Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 08:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Hi,

Not sure if this is something a DIY'er should be attempting to do - I thought it would be more straightforward than it now seem!! Lol...

I live in a condo where we have the old Honeywell thermostat pictured below. I don't know much about our heating / cooling system, but I believe that the condo centrally controls whether the heat or AC is on - and that's really all I know!

When I removed the old thermostat, there are six wires: yellow, red, blue, black, brown, and orange (but connected to a white wire).

Only the orange and yellow wires seem to be connected to the temperature control.

The other wires are connected to the fan speed and master on/off switches.

My new thermostat is also a Honeywell (model RTH7600D1014 - product link below). The back of the thermostat has a number of slots for wiring but none of the codes and the installation instructions make any sense! The install instructions assume you are replacing a 4-wire thermostat.

Thanks!

New Honeywell Thermostat:
http://www.homedepot.ca/webapp/wcs/s...k=P_PartNumber
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat-img00336-20110331-2008.jpg   Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat-img00394-20110413-2206.jpg   Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat-img00395-20110413-2207.jpg  

optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 09:47 AM   #2
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


See on your new thermostat there are letters on the terminals? On the old thermostat are there letters next to where the wires are? The reason i ask is because the wiring is different for gas heat, and heat pump. The new thermostat is compatable with both. Can you take a look at your furnace? What is the model number? Do you have cooling as well?

thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 09:50 AM   #3
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


We need to know what kind of system you have. The wiring is different between gas heat and heat pump, so we need to check the model number. Dont worry, your new thermostat is compatable with both. Can you see letters on the old thermostat where the wires are connected?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 09:52 AM   #4
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by thehvacguy
We need to know what kind of system you have. The wiring is different between gas heat and heat pump, so we need to check the model number. Dont worry, your new thermostat is compatable with both. Can you see letters on the old thermostat where the wires are connected?
Dam computer
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:19 AM   #5
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Looks like a line voltage chiller stat. You cant use a 24 volt stat.

here is a link.


http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1253..._PROD_FILE.pdf
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Thanks for getting back to me! I put together the attached diagram to show the wiring and what the back of the old thermostat looks like. Not many of the wires are labelled but I also added labels for what the switches do.

In the bottom right corner in the square is the diagram that is illustrated on the back panel of the thermostat.

Sorry, not sure what kind of heat system my building has!!
optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


I initially tried uploading the wiring diagram as a PDF, but that didn't work. Here it is in JPG.
Attached Images
 
optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:00 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Your current thermostat is a line voltage thermostat that is used to control a water valve and the fan motor.

The RTH thermostat you have is a low voltage thermostat, and can not be used on your system, without adding a relay system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


I can return the new one I bought... Is there another model you could reccommend to me?
optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:27 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


As far as I know. They don't make a line voltage thermostat that is programmable or digital for your application.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 07:56 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


Hi - would something like this work?

http://www.honeywell-thermostat.com/...hermostat.html
optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 05:29 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


It can open the water valve for heating, and turn on the fan to one fixed fan speed. It can't control cooling though.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:17 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


You mentioned a relay option... is this something common / straightforward / recommended? How would I get more info on getting this done, and/or who would be the right tradesperson (electrician or hvac)?

Thx!!
optimizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:22 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,544
Default

Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat


HVAC would be the right person. its not something commonly done though. So you would need someone that is good with controls and control wiring.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
Replacing my 6 wire Honeywell condo thermostat Ivan33 HVAC 8 11-29-2009 01:04 PM
Replacing an OLD Honeywell thermostat Parent HVAC 1 11-21-2009 08:47 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.