Replacing Johnson Control With Honeywell RTH8500 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2009, 06:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


Installing Honeywell RTH8500 to replace Johnson control T210hp-10
It should be simple, that's what they claim.....

The wire coming from the wall are labelled as follow:
R
O
Y1
C
X
W2

I used the wiring diagram from page 12 (Installation Guide) that says:
R connect to Rc & R leave metal jumper in place,
O to O/B
Y1 to Y
C to C
X to E
W2 to Aux

Power back heat pump and furnace, set time and temp, doesn't work!!!!

Actually, HeatPump works, but fan in the central furnace doesn't?

Thanks in advance... I leave computer on to heat up the house

Advertisement

Pierre M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:27 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


down on the air handler do you see a G terminal wired in.....and is it going up to the subbase.thats a heatpump but the "air handler" is just that, or is it a furnace with gas?does the old stat,and new stat both have FAN ON/AUTO on that subbase? does the subbases have a G terminal?

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:14 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


Also, did you make sure to set up the Thermostat for your unit, and not just hook it up and put in the batteries? There is a little more to do with the Honeywells, then just open the box and connect.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


FROM BIGGLES: down on the air handler do you see a G terminal wired in.....and is it going up to the subbase.thats a heatpump but the "air handler" is just that, or is it a furnace with gas?does the old stat,and new stat both have FAN ON/AUTO on that subbase? does the subbases have a G terminal?
I HAVE TO OPEN UP THE UNIT, I WILL CHECK AT LUNCH (12H35)

AND YES, GREGZOLL, I PROGRAMMED THE UNIT, AFTER FINDING HOW BY A LOT OF READING i.e. center bottom key.

WIL SEE LATER TODAY, TEMPERATURE IS AROUND -8C SO NOT TO WORRY NOW...

THANK YOU BOTH, I WILL KEEP CHATROOM POSTED1
Pierre M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


I spoke to my serviceman, I had to make appointment for annual PM,

he told me to make sure GREEN or X wire is connected to G on HONEYWELL. No charge!!!

And now it works perfect.
I will post complete programming later.

Thanks every one, happy heat...

configuration so far and it work:
fonction =>> setting
170=>>9
180=>>0
240=>>5
300=>>0

the rest is personnal ĄC, hour in 24h

That's it.
Thank's again for the support.

Last edited by Pierre M; 01-19-2009 at 07:31 PM.
Pierre M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:11 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing Johnson Control with Honeywell RTH8500


the only difference with the G/FAN is in cooling mode it calls in from the stat,and on a heat pump there might be a time delay when your heating thru the air handler.brands differ on that one.good luck up north there

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with installation of Honeywell RTH8500 thermostat dg xy HVAC 19 07-28-2009 01:25 PM
Honeywell IAQ thermostat and humidity control GhostBuster HVAC 14 12-19-2008 01:28 AM
Honeywell RTH8500 spare contacts? golfnut65 HVAC 8 11-21-2008 11:14 AM
Carrier Infinity Control VS Honeywell VisionPRO 8000 Theromostat super_man4471 HVAC 2 04-26-2007 03:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts