Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2006, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Replacing Fasco 7062-3136 with Fasco A147 after extensive research and consultation with HVAC suppliers. Two questions arise:

1) Old unit has one black lead and one white lead connected to the circuit board. Black is connected to location ID and white is connected to #2. New unit has two white leads, one longer than the other. Which lead do I connect to which connecter?

2) On the old unit, there is a condensate line connected in the top left quadrant along with the drain line connected to the bottom. The new unit has a nipple in each the top left and top right quadrants. Am I to connect the line to the top left? Would I have to punch through the nipple?

I can prove pictures, if needed.

Thanks for your help.

allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 05:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Seems like we just went through this..............whew.......please post model # of furnace anmd serial #. also if possible post pictures

acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 05:15 PM   #3
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Hi allenzachary

Go to thread on page #2 by BDPNA, it is titled Inducer Part Needed. You should find all the answers you need in this post.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 05:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Guys-

Thanks for the input. That whole exchange was enormously helpful and guided me very well...

The only thing I don't understand is the color of the wiring. The new blower motor has TWO WHITE LEADS and the old one had ONE BLACK AND ONE WHITE.

Does it matter which white lead is connected to which location on the circuit board? the exchange with CaseyWA and BDNA did not specify the colors. Please give me a hint. Thanks.
allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 05:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


tHE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO KEEP IN MIND IS THAT ALTERING A FURNACE FROM ITS ORIGINAL STATE, IS VERY DANGEROUS! YOU WILL ACCEPT ALL LIABILLITY FROM THAT POINT ON! Is it worth it? to save a few bucks? The correct answer is NO! And only a inexsperenced technician would advise you any differently.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 06:12 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Ace-

Thanks for the warning. The liability is already all mine. The furnace is 12+ years old. Any screw up I cause I will have to pay for anyway. That is why I'm being so careful to research carefully before making any moves.

I can call a professional at any point. The reason I visit DIY chatrooms, such as this is to get advice from willing pros/experienced DIY'ers in order to save money and avoid mistakes. Clearly this is a project I can handle, with the right advice.

I worked 20+ years in the audio industry. Most of the installation/repairs for which I got paid were jobs that any willing and able DIYer could have easily handled. As a professional in the industry, I was always glad to provide tips and expertise to help my customers get the jobs done properly and save them money. On occasion, there was a job that required experience beyond the norm, and I recommended to my customer that it be handled by a pro. It really depends on the circumstance.

In this case, I needed help to assure that I connected the right wire to the right connector. (I harken back to my audio days, wiring is of the utmost importance). Once I understand the configuration, I can make a connection.

As it turns out, Rusty was right. All I needed was in the earlier forum. The shorter cable goes to the ID conection on th PC board. That's all I needed.

Thanks for your warning, but an answer would hav been more helpful.
allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Rather you want to heed it or not is up to you, But trust me i gave you the right "answer". kansas boy will tell you what you want to hear..............but I will tell you reality.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 09:12 PM   #8
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Hi allenzachary

I already like you, the only reason I joined this site originally was to give the needed information to those who are able to do the work. Its nice to know that you were cautious even though you had a good background. Glad you were able to fix it.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:42 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Replacing Inducer Blower


Rusty, I am glad that you are around to pass on useful information...there are those of us out here that are able to do the work, the work that we know the difference of what we can handle and when to call professionals like yourself.

...and thank you for not whinning to us about liability and posting pictures when what we really need to know is the information!

caseywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Inducer installation / modification ... caseywa HVAC 26 12-06-2010 01:50 PM
Induction blower seal ktritz HVAC 4 03-05-2007 08:52 PM
Replacement Inducer Blower caseywa HVAC 18 11-27-2006 03:42 PM
trane furnace with inducer blower error tjh57 HVAC 1 10-22-2006 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.