Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-28-2009, 08:08 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Replacing Inducer

I have an old Lennox vertical furnace where the Fasco (No. 7121-8774, 25J1201) motor has burned out. I see where I can purchase a new one for around $120.00 but don't have any experience in replacing it. It has a simple wire connector but I am not sure if it will pull straight out after removing the 3 nuts or if there is a trick.

Thoughts?

Thanks

cstamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 09:10 PM   #2
Hvac Pro

Rewards Points: 2,756

Replacing Inducer

Post the complete model# and a pic of it with the front door off. I am a Lennox tech and they are not ALL easy.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 10:53 PM   #3

Replacing Inducer

Yuri - thanks for the reply. Here are the pictures of the unit with more detailed information in regards to the model

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45085243@N04/
Old 11-29-2009, 09:20 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,000

Replacing Inducer

You need to remove the face plate that covers the inducer assembly on the G23. Lots of screws to remove but it's not hard.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:52 AM   #5
Hvac Pro

Replacing Inducer

That is one model we never sold here. Is it the same inducer as a G16 Marty?
Here is a troubleshooting manual with some good pics for you cs . If you have a lot of patience you can probably do it.http://tech.lennoxintl.com/PDFs/9814a.pdf
Old 11-29-2009, 12:27 PM   #6

Replacing Inducer

Don't believe it has the same part number yuri but wouldn't know for sure without looking it up on Davenet. Very few inducers have failed on those but the ones that did took about 20 minutes to replace. We do the whole assembly instead of messing around trying to get the wheel off the motor shaft.