Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing Honeywell T8401C thermostat


Hi All:

I'm looking to replace my daughter's Honeywell T8401C thermostat (non-programmable) with a White-Rogers 1F90W programmable (pulled from my home system when I upgraded to modulating furnaces). The Honeywell wiring is as follows:

White - W
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Red - R
Blue - C

The White Rogers wiring is as follows:

White - W
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Red - RH, jumpered to RC
No C terminal

Do I tape off the Blue (C wire) and jumper RH to RC or do I connect the blue wire to the RC terminal on the stat? Neither thermostats' installtion instructions cover this particular swap. The furnace is a Carrier Comfort 80 (installed in 2005).

Thanks in advance.

sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:07 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Replacing Honeywell T8401C thermostat


tape the C wire ...your stat runs on a back feed and batteries all the C wire means is it is a true 24v powered stat with batteries backing up memory in power outage...the Rc-Rh are the hot 24V side of the system up there it would of shorted the transformer as soon as you connected it to Rc....Rc is cooling Rh is heat allows the system to draw on the transformer in either mode with a stat with an AUTO setting that is why there is a subbase jumper between them..if there was no jumper you would have to manualy schange the system switch from cool to heat to get either or...NOTE to others reading here always consider that C wire is required on newer digital stats with led screens without a true 24V and that C wire it will lite up and just sit there...


Last edited by biggles; 10-07-2012 at 01:10 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing Honeywell T8401C thermostat


Thanks Biggles. Unfortunately, I'm struggling to understand your post:

"...the Rc-Rh are the hot 24V side of the system up there it would of shorted the transformer as soon as you connected it to Rc"

Does this mean if I jumper Rc and Rh I will damage the stat (or the transformer)?

"NOTE to others reading here always consider that C wire is required on newer digital stats with led screens without a true 24V and that C wire it will lite up and just sit there... "

I believe that the White Rogers does not use a 24v to power the stat but I don't really understand what the highlighted text means?

Last edited by sktn77a; 10-07-2012 at 04:42 PM.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sktn77a For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-07-2012)
Old 10-07-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Replacing Honeywell T8401C thermostat


Connecting the C wire to RH or RC is not a good thing. Just tape it off. And jumper RH and RC.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:28 PM   #5
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Replacing Honeywell T8401C thermostat


OK, great. Thanks all for your replies.

Keith
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell RTH230B Thermostat Trouble sdambra HVAC 0 07-14-2012 12:30 PM
Replacing Carrier Thermostat with Honeywell jgoldman77 HVAC 5 10-14-2011 02:02 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 08:33 AM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Honeywell VisionPro Thermostat infoskr HVAC 32 12-17-2008 03:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.