Replacing Furnace Control Board, Need Assistance, Pics Inside - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 01:07 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing furnace control board, need assistance, pics inside


The 2 boards are not compatible
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing furnace control board, need assistance, pics inside-honeywell-st9101a-1014.........jpg  

Advertisement

Chimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 05:35 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Replacing furnace control board, need assistance, pics inside


Looks like some of these posts are quiet old, not sure if anyone is still following.

I just replaced the my ST9101A Honeywell board in my Rheem furnace. The board was slightly diff but straight forward to switch over.

One thing I noticed was on the original board it appears as if the (M1)YL & (M2)BL wires are reversed. I am guessing YL=Yellow and BL=Black. It will have been running like this for years since we purchased this home. I hooked up the new board exactly as the old wires were connected.

I am concerned however that it has been hooked up wrong, not sure what the implications are or what could go wrong further as a result.

Any one have advice for me?

Mike.
Gorbechauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 05:43 AM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 31,168
Rewards Points: 3,784
Default

Replacing furnace control board, need assistance, pics inside


M1 and M2 are park terminals. Just a place to put the wires that aren't used. So they don't hang freely and short out to anything. There is no power going to those terminals. So doesn't matter what wire was on which post.

You probably have a red and a blue wire, 1 going to cool and 1 going to heat.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Gorbechauve (01-26-2016)
Old 01-26-2016, 06:04 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Replacing furnace control board, need assistance, pics inside


Thanks, I'm quite impressed with speedy response

Yes, I had a blue and red wire just as you say.

Mike

Advertisement

Gorbechauve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gorbechauve For This Useful Post:
beenthere (01-26-2016)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Furnace Control Board Questions dmason83 HVAC 4 11-15-2012 08:15 AM
furnace doesn't turn on automatically akai HVAC 8 11-12-2012 03:45 PM
Bad control board? juddskee HVAC 12 12-24-2011 10:59 AM
Replacing a control board RexHavoc HVAC 5 11-05-2011 04:57 PM
Soot Inside Gas Furnace DIYerIT HVAC 4 10-11-2010 06:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts