Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed


I purchased a replacement blower motor but the replacement is a 3 speed vs a 4 speed can the 3 speed be wired up to the controller board?
4 speed motor has a med lo and med hi wire can I tie the 2 connections on the control board to the 1 med speed wire on the new 3 speed motor?

Roy Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:10 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed


do you have AC on the furnace should be HI for cooling...and maybe LO/MED or just LO for heating.can't stack speed wires only single speed connections either or..do you have HI on the new 3 speed motor

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:21 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,060
Rewards Points: 3,784
Default

replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed


yes you can.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Cool

replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed


One to hi, one to low and one on park
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 04:25 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,060
Rewards Points: 3,784
Default

replacing furnace blower motor from a 4 speed to 3 speed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Acomfort View Post
One to hi, one to low and one on park
Good chance his old motor used med high and med low. So using med on his new 3 speed for both heating and cooling would be typical.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 09:39 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 02:21 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 05:11 PM
Luxaire furnace blower will not shut off danaugstin HVAC 1 10-06-2009 10:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.