Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2011, 02:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

replacing fan motor on condensor unit


when i purchased a fan motor from an ac supply house i was informed that i would need to change the cap from a 5 to 7.5. I had just installed a new 45mfd cap which was already in the unit. do I need to install a second one? and if so how do i wire it in? The motor I took out was a single phase 1/3 hp 1075 rpm 208-230 volt. the new motor has all the same numbers except the fact that it requires 7.5 cap.

jackaroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:04 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

replacing fan motor on condensor unit


You need to install capacitor that the new motor requires.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

replacing fan motor on condensor unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
You need to install capacitor that the new motor requires.
is this in addition to the cap that i have? and how does the second cap get wired in?
jackaroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:37 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

replacing fan motor on condensor unit


You do not need to use the old motor capacitor.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:27 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,896
Default

replacing fan motor on condensor unit


The 45 mfd cap you installed. Is it a dual cap. ie has 2 ratings like 45/5 mfd on it and 3 terminals. If so you need a 45/7.5 mfd dual cap.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing water line for refrigerator seannymurrs Plumbing 13 04-09-2011 06:30 AM
Replacing Section of Feed Line When replacing kitchen faucet??? spyboy Plumbing 5 03-21-2011 02:57 PM
Replacing old galv irrigation pipe tns1 Plumbing 8 09-11-2010 04:08 PM
Replacing windows in a Bedford Stone home tim_the_toolman Building & Construction 6 12-02-2008 07:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.