Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2013, 07:23 PM   #1

Share |

Replacing ac unit and furnace

Hey guys. This morning my wife told me that the house didn't get any cooler last night when we had the air on. We felt the vents and it was cool not cold. I had her turn the system back on and I heard the unit kick on and start humming like it always did. I looked out the window and saw that the fan wasn't turning at the unit. I am an ase mechanic and in cars the condenser will overheat if the fan isn't cooling it. I assume this is the same for a house. The unit was very warm to the touch and I had her shut it off right away. The ac unit and the furnace are original to the house and it was built in 79. We just assumed that replacing the system is a better option as opposed to fixing what's wrong now and having more go wrong in the long run. Plus I am pretty sure these are very inefficient. Main question is what brands do you recommend. We are first time homeowners and it seems like there are a lot of negative reviews for all companies. We have two main hvac people In our area that are prominent and they both deal with Trane. Also should we do ac and furnace at the same time? Is it required? What does the average cost go for? Thank you all for the help and advice in advance.

Mike

blackws6ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:48 PM   #2

Could be as simple as a capacitor? Don't think the rules or policy allow price quoting!

Old 05-11-2013, 01:12 AM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackws6ta
Main question is what brands do you recommend. We are first time homeowners and it seems like there are a lot of negative reviews for all companies.
Mike