Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2008, 06:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Just had to replaced the t-stat batteries on my carrier Heat pump installed about 6months ago. But now it's stuck on temp-hold. can't even get the fan to come on, and of course this happens on one the the few cold nights here in TX.

Service is coming in the morning, I'm just wondering if maybe it's something simple I'm missing.

SOTX567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:32 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


try turning the furnace off at the switch, pull the batteries and put them back in. Then turn the furnace back on.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Tried that, no go.
SOTX567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:41 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Do you have a meter, Tex?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:42 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Pics of stat and furnace would be very helpful if possible.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


It's a Carrier performance series heat pump, can't remember the exact model offhand.

http://www.residential.carrier.com/p...formance.shtml


And this tstat, or very close to it.

http://www.residential.carrier.com/p...nprogram.shtml
SOTX567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 06:57 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Hang on for an HP guy Tex. Ain't got em up north here.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 37
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Quote:
Originally Posted by SOTX567 View Post
Just had to replaced the t-stat batteries on my carrier Heat pump installed about 6months ago. But now it's stuck on temp-hold. can't even get the fan to come on, and of course this happens on one the the few cold nights here in TX.

Service is coming in the morning, I'm just wondering if maybe it's something simple I'm missing.
It might be on "keypad Lockout" mode. See instruction manual and perform procedure.
pbservano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:54 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


no lockout, but upon further troubleshooting it seems as though the tstat is working as it should. However when i change the temp to a point where it should come on it will sit for a minute or two then switch to aux heat. but nothing will ever come on, not even the fan.
SOTX567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:16 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


You might want to check for a blown low voltage fuse on the air handler circuit board. Should be a purple 3amp fuse or a orange 5amp fuse.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 11:06 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

replaced carrier T-stat batt, now it's dead


Checked that too, it looks good. Unless there is another fuse or reset switch I don't know about, I have no idea.

SOTX567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Carrier Weathermaker Infinity Not Working! MaxPierre HVAC 27 01-19-2009 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.