Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 02:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat


I have 240V electric baseboard heaters and am trying to replace the thermostat. I removed the current thermostat (singer, unknown model) from the wall and found it is connected with 3 wires, all of which are red. 2 go to the terminals of the thermostat. The third red wire is connected via a wire nut connector to a short piece of white wire and that white wire runs to another screwdown post. How do I install the Honeywell rlv430a that has 2 wires onto the existing wiring? If you believe the honeywell is incompatible can you suggest a thermostat that will work with the wiring in my house?

Bhurl5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat


Pics of the wiring would help. Do you have a multimeter.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:19 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat


you only need to break one side of the 240V heater to shut it off don't know what that third terminal is for whats the amperage rating on the heater vs the stat rating for a 240V heater
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:19 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat


that third wire might be a ground wire if it screws down on a post. You can leave that one be for now and hook up the other two to your new stat. test it on off if it cycles correctly if have her beat.
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 08:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat


I do not have a multimeter but I will upload a pic when I have a chance. I have the old thermostat back in place for now as the in laws said they're freezing.
Bhurl5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ? sciron Electrical 6 02-19-2011 05:28 PM
4 wire thermostat to 2 wire Tammpatt Electrical 1 01-10-2011 01:46 PM
2 Wire Thermostat question vtec69 Electrical 19 10-19-2009 05:14 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.