Remote Sensor For Line Voltage Thermostat? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2008, 02:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


We want to move (or replace) the line voltage thermostat that currently controls two baseboard heaters in our living room and place the thermostat in the hallway next to the living room.

Is there such a thing as line voltage thermostat than can utilize (or comes with) a wired remote sensor and who makes it?

Thanks in advance for advice.

Advertisement

hbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
Electric Radiant Heating
 
warmsmeallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


What is the total wattage of the 2 baseboard heaters?

Advertisement

__________________
www.comfortradiant.net
warmsmeallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


Unfortunately, we don't know the wattage of the two heaters. We have removed the covers and cannot find any markings. All we know is that they are on a 20 amp circuit.
hbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:26 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


Generally speaking, baseboard heaters are 250 watts per foot. At 240 volts, this is also known as 'just a shade more than 1 amp per foot'.

Is the 20 amp circuit 240 volts? Most likely it is, 120 volt baseboard heaters are rare.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 01:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


The heaters are each 8 feet long.

Sorry to be so ignorant about the ratings of our system.

Below is what is written on the circuit panel if this is any help.

LC240PC-200A Main combo
LC240PS-200A Main surface

"This panel has a max short circuit rating of 10,000 RMS SYM AMP at 240 volts."
hbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 02:09 PM   #6
Electric Radiant Heating
 
warmsmeallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


Well, as it turns out, it's not doable. The company, Aube Thermostats, that did make a 240 volt tstat with a floor sensor (that you could have embedded into...something else..) to sense a given temperature. However, Honeywell recently bought the company and they discontinued the floor sensing ONLY line of Tstats. Now they are Ambient/Floor limiting, which will not work in your desired application.

You could take it a step further and use a standard 24v tstat that is floor sensing only to activate a relay..but that probably gets too involved for your purpose.
__________________
www.comfortradiant.net
warmsmeallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 07:19 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


Many thanks for your help.

I guess we will have to make do with what we have.
hbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 04:42 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat?


Since you have two electric baseboards to control, are they on the same circuit?
If so you will need a relay to mount at the circuit feed to the heaters that will operate of a thermostat (low voltage) wired to operate the relay for turning the base board on and off.
If not you will need two relays, one for each baseboard.

Advertisement

weatherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Totaline thermostat trouble shooting Goldwing93 HVAC 3 07-30-2009 11:35 PM
Humidifier & Thermostat BigD HVAC 1 12-19-2007 09:04 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts