Relocate Furnace - Mid -high Efficiency - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2010, 02:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Relocate Furnace - mid -high efficiency


I live in Toronto.
The house is was built in 1902.
Major renovations to the electrical, heating and plumbing were done in 1995.
I am going to build a walk out entrance for the basement.
As a result, I will be underpinning the floor to increase ceiling height.
In order to maximize the living space downstairs, I must relocate the current mid-efficieny furnace - that is currently sitting smack dab in the center of the floor.
My question is for anyone HVAC or homeowners who have undergone a similar project:

1. As a homeowner how much do you beneift from going from mid-efficiency to high efficieny? ($ savings on energy bill vs cost)

2. Did you relocated the duct system?

3.How much did it cost (ball park)?

4. If you did relocate the furnace - who did you use?

Advertisement

Sunil015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 08:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Relocate Furnace - mid -high efficiency


Not specific to you but a general $ savings....

For 3000 heating hours a year with a gas cost of $1 per therm and a 100K btu furnace

70% AFUE costs $3200 a year to heat
80% AFUE costs $2800 a year to heat
95% AFUE costs $ 2400 a year to heat

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 08:21 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,050
Rewards Points: 738
Default

Relocate Furnace - mid -high efficiency


If you have a mid efficiency unit it will still need to be connected to the chimney and long chimney runs over 10 feet can be a problem with mids. Mid efficiency furnaces are no longer available in Canada. Only 90% and higher as of Jan 1/2010. You should think about the future as when yours goes you will have to buy a high efficiency. I would probably replace it now if it is 15 yrs or older and eliminate the chimney and use an electric water heater. If you keep it make sure your allow for future venting of a high efficiency unit and get some advice from a heating contractor about where it can be vented. People build rec rooms, closed ceilings and have huge problems installing a high efficiency later.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ducts , hvac , hvac installation , underpinning


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
High Efficiency Side Exhaust Vent TerrySki HVAC 8 04-06-2010 03:55 PM
High Efficiency furnace water leak drtbk4ever HVAC 10 03-21-2009 12:17 AM
Ice buildup on High Eff Furnace Vent drtbk4ever HVAC 8 01-07-2009 08:20 PM
High Efficiency furnaces? jetchaser HVAC 3 06-19-2008 08:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts