Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2009, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: az
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Relocate ac comressor


Hi all, first time out so be a little tolerant. I am looking out my window at a 10+ year old ac compressor that really needs replacing. The existing location is terrible as it is in a front courtyard, viewable from the street and within a few feet of the front entrance. I would like to move it to the side yard on the east side of the house. Since the house is build on a slab and I don't have an attic on that side I though that the easiest/best method would be to run the wires and pipes underground through (2) 3/4" conduits and a 2 or 3 inch abs pipe for the refrigerant lines. The total distance underground is less than 50' and about 10' to the air handler. As I am retired and on a limited budget I would do the digging (which oddly enough I don't mind, actually enjoy) and maybe even pull the wires. Is this (going underground) a stupid idea??? Thanks in advance, G

Gretagerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 06:34 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Relocate ac comressor


It is not a good idea and the whole job would be VERY expensive to do. It may take 4-6 hrs plus freon, nitrogen test, copper tubing etc etc. My company would charge $600 to $1000 plus taxes to do it. It is not easy to bend large freon lines tightly and if you have elbows soldered in, it takes more time and there is a chance for leaks.


Last edited by yuri; 04-19-2009 at 06:39 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 07:42 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

Relocate ac comressor


The lines would need a lot of insulation.
And the pipe the lines are ran through, would need to be sealed to keep water out.

I can be done. But, you can lose capacity. And care must be taked to prevent refrigerant migration and oil slugging.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:04 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Relocate ac comressor


New high eff units are quite, you should consider installing one in the same location with scalloped cinder block wall around it leaving enough room for service and air flow.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 05:56 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Relocate ac comressor


Mini-Split

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 05:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Relocate ac comressor


I think you answered the wrong post.

SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relocate shower drain in concrete devouru Plumbing 15 10-31-2009 09:19 AM
Shower drain relocate fireman74 Plumbing 3 12-29-2008 11:46 PM
Extra wall register in bedroom: seal up or relocate? pmoe HVAC 5 12-08-2008 09:57 PM
I would like to relocate the flue for my gas water heater Git HVAC 12 04-23-2008 09:37 PM
relocate washer/dryer krtw Remodeling 2 01-15-2006 02:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.