Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 12:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Register Boot size?


I am running 10'' for hot air and 12'' for return air inside from a outside wood furnace, my question is what size of register boot do I need for both of them? I know it will be 10'' and 12'' but by what 10'' X? X? and 12'' X? X? ?

Arnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:09 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

Register Boot size?


That depends on what BTU rating the wood stove is.
And what air flow they want for it.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Register Boot size?


They do not list a BTU rating they say there are to many variable factors that can change it . In the manual it says it has a 1800cfm blower and it should have 600 feet to 1000 feet per minute in the main duct and 400 to 600 FPM at the registers. Does this help any?
Arnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Register Boot size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnj View Post
I am running 10'' for hot air and 12'' for return air inside from a outside wood furnace, my question is what size of register boot do I need for both of them? I know it will be 10'' and 12'' but by what 10'' X? X? and 12'' X? X? ?
As a general rule of thumb I like to see terminal boots to have 2X the area of the duct this is to allow for the register and the block that it creates.

Now this being a wood furnace better to go large and let the fan move as much air as possible.

10" round = 9x9 sq.
12" round =11x11

So Your 10" trunk would terminate at about 8x20 the 12" 10x 24

These sould put you in the ball park.
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Register Boot size?


Thank you DR HEAT. I found the BTU rating on the furnaces website it is maximum 200,000 I dought this will change the boot size any, but just thought i'd list it. Thanks again
Arnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 07:23 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

Register Boot size?


1800 CFM at 1000 FPM, requires an 18" round duct.

If you use 10", you ain't getting much heat out of that wood furnace, before it shuts down.

Your going to need some really big grilles also.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 12:36 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Register Boot size?


Does anybody know who makes a 8'' x 20'' heat register ? The biggest I can find is a 8x14.Or would it be alright to just use a return grille? I do find them in that size.
Arnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Register Boot size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
1800 CFM at 1000 FPM, requires an 18" round duct.

If you use 10", you ain't getting much heat out of that wood furnace, before it shuts down.

Your going to need some really big grilles also.
Ya I missed the 1800 cfm
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Register Boot size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnj View Post
Does anybody know who makes a 8'' x 20'' heat register ? The biggest I can find is a 8x14.Or would it be alright to just use a return grille? I do find them in that size.
You might need to go to a commercial grill, special order from continental.

Return grills are different they are not designed to distribute the air.

Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extra wall register in bedroom: seal up or relocate? pmoe HVAC 5 12-08-2008 09:57 PM
Attaching Flex duct to register boot avshockey HVAC 15 12-03-2008 08:07 PM
Proper installation of register boot hartkem HVAC 5 11-15-2008 10:44 PM
Return Register Size for 16" Flex hartkem HVAC 17 11-15-2008 11:13 AM
Install Register Boot in finished ceiling? rockyfan206 HVAC 1 03-06-2008 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.