Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-11-2009, 09:22 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Reducing 15kw Heat Strip

My home has a 3 ton electric air handler installed with a 15kw heat strip. I live in Texas and the winters do not get that cold. Is there any way I can reduce the heat strip so it only uses 10kw's of power? The 15kw heat strip just kills me on my power bill. I have a degree in mechanical engineering so I know may way around electrical things, I was just wondering if it was possible.

Thanks,

Adam

tx_reeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:35 AM   #2

Reducing 15kw Heat Strip

Yes, they make smaller heat strips. You'd have to research what sizes are available that fit in your air handler.

But I'm not sure how that will lower your electric bill. A smaller heat strip may simply run longer.

If this is coupled with a Heat Pump perhaps you have the option to install primary, secondary and tertiary heat strips, depending on your heat pump and air handler. Or perhaps your system is not optimally configured.

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:49 AM   #3

Reducing 15kw Heat Strip

I actually was trying to modify my 15kw heat strip to only run at 10kw's. I was assuming it would save money to only run the 10kw because it would be losing less power, and everywhere I have read 10kw would be more than enough to heat my size home. My air handler is 20 years old so I don't think I could find a heat strip that would fit.
Old 09-11-2009, 11:09 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

Reducing 15kw Heat Strip

Quote:
Originally Posted by tx_reeg View Post