Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-08-2012, 07:55 PM   #1

Share |

Recently installed Bypass humidifier. Should my house feel colder?

Here's the situation. I bought an older house a few years ago that's pretty loose and drafty. I plan on re-insulating when I redo my siding this summer and tightening the house up. However, in the meantime the house has been incredibly dry. Humidity lower than 20% and floors creaking, noses bloody, lips chapped, and all around static. So I installed an Aprilaire 500A. Pretty proud of myself as it's my first time installing something like that. The humidifier seems to have helped. Even on the colder nights with the furnace running a lot the humidity has been around 40%. One thing I've noticed though is that the house feels a bit colder now even though the temp is still set at 70. I had thought that it should feel warmer and that I may be able to lower the thermostat to 68 or 69 but my wife's even noticed it.

Does the temp feel colder because there is more moisture in the air and moisture transmits temperatures easier than air?

speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:23 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster1 View Post