Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 12:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Probably some dumb questions but....

I recently had a 96% furnace installed (a Bryant) that has a variable speed blower. We kept the 8 to 10 year old central air.

Questions:

1. The new unit has a condensation pump that drains to our utility sink. Is there any maintenance that needs to be done on that pump? It's working fine, but I figure since it constantly has water flowing through it, perhaps I need to clean it once in a while or add some bleach or something?

2. Our prior furnace was a single-stage 80% York unit. As such, it was either fully on or fully off - no variable speed. We love the new variable speeds for heating and was wondering: does this also work with the air conditioner? I'm assuming it will, since my understanding is that the blower is the same for both heat and air?

I should have asked the installer this stuff but didn't think of it at the time.

Advertisement

mark2741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 130
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


For the condensate you shouldnt have to do anything, when we install a pump we generally tie it in directly to the a plumbing drain, a bit of bleach here and there wouldnt hurt.

With a two stage furnace its not the blower that adjusts, but the flame. At least is my understanding and from the bryants i've installed never had the actual blower speed change without adjusting the fan speed ports on the board

Advertisement

ahrens is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ahrens For This Useful Post:
mark2741 (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Thanks.

I should have mentioned: this is the furnace I have -

http://www.catalog.bryant.com/wcs/pr..._SIT70,00.html

It is 2 stage burner, but variable speed blower.
mark2741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:11 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,075
Rewards Points: 788
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


The variable speed blower will ramp up/down when the AC starts but unless you got a 2 stage AC it will settle on a high speed for the AC. You should however get the installer to check the blower speed for the AC and the freon level when warm enough. The newer furnaces have the AC speed set for maximum capacity and most of them need to be slowed down with the dip switches on the circuit board for better dehumidification etc. Depends on the AC size in tons. Get the AC model # and I/we can probably give you the tons and then we look up the tonnage capacity of your furnace fan to see if it matches. Also need the complete model # of the furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 130
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2741 View Post
Thanks.

I should have mentioned: this is the furnace I have -

http://www.catalog.bryant.com/wcs/pr..._SIT70,00.html

It is 2 stage burner, but variable speed blower.
Aahhh i got ya now, we've only installed a few 925T's mostly around here people go with the lower end units
ahrens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Put 1/2 cup of bleach in a gallon of hot tap water, and pour it into the pump.The pump will cycle a couple times as you pour it in.Do it at the start of each season.
HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:46 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,443
Rewards Points: 4,532
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by ahrens View Post
For the condensate you shouldnt have to do anything, when we install a pump we generally tie it in directly to the a plumbing drain, a bit of bleach here and there wouldnt hurt.

With a two stage furnace its not the blower that adjusts, but the flame. At least is my understanding and from the bryants i've installed never had the actual blower speed change without adjusting the fan speed ports on the board
Even on a ECM or PSC blower it changes speed from first stage to second stage. or the temp rise would be either too much in second stage or not enough in first stage.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 03:48 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,443
Rewards Points: 4,532
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2741 View Post
Probably some dumb questions but....

I recently had a 96% furnace installed (a Bryant) that has a variable speed blower. We kept the 8 to 10 year old central air.

Questions:

1. The new unit has a condensation pump that drains to our utility sink. Is there any maintenance that needs to be done on that pump? It's working fine, but I figure since it constantly has water flowing through it, perhaps I need to clean it once in a while or add some bleach or something?

2. Our prior furnace was a single-stage 80% York unit. As such, it was either fully on or fully off - no variable speed. We love the new variable speeds for heating and was wondering: does this also work with the air conditioner? I'm assuming it will, since my understanding is that the blower is the same for both heat and air?

I should have asked the installer this stuff but didn't think of it at the time.
It can be set up to do a slow ramp up in cooling. And or with the right thermostat it can be wired and set up to run the blower slower to remove more humidity, if the humidity gets higher then the dehumidistat is set for.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-03-2013)
Old 03-03-2013, 04:29 PM   #9
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


There are no dumb questions.............................er, sorry, yeah there really are, but yours surely isn't one of them.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago/NWI
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Recent Furnace Installed - Some Dumb Questions


The blower adjusts according to whether your in the high or low stage of heat.
The blower in cooling mode can be set to either a 5 second off time delay after the call for cooling ends, and defaults to a 90 second blower-off-time-delay after the call for cooling ends. The blower will ramp up gradually on the call for cool. The dip switches need to be set to match the tonnage of your condenser outside.

Also what kind of thermostat do you have?

Advertisement

gusherb94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand New Concord Furnace Doesn't Work In Cold Weather LeighC HVAC 21 01-07-2013 09:48 PM
Furnace venting questions Mastiff HVAC 9 12-05-2012 06:51 PM
Heil Furnace problem - is is the undersized vent? mpmusicny HVAC 8 11-20-2012 01:47 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts