Ready To Pull Hair Out - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2010, 08:31 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,132
Rewards Points: 902
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


The unit may have been used/yanked from another house/oversized or who knows what if they did a sloppy job on the venting. Serious damage can occur in a short time from overheating and like Beenthere said, some guys increase the limit control rating and other BS to try keep units running. Without a crystal ball you never know what happened. I know what you are going thru. Learned EVERYTHING the hard way myself. Had no internet buddies to help either.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:38 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
I know what you are going thru. Learned EVERYTHING the hard way myself. Had no internet buddies to help either.

Boy.
The internet and forums like this would have made life SOOOOO much easier if it had been around like this in the 70's.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:20 PM   #33
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,132
Rewards Points: 902
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


I bet you have a few "8 tracks" with Bee Gees stashed away from the good Ole days.
We had a "Disco Inferno" in the peg for a few years, Yuck.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:22 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


Just throwing one more thing out there, is it possible that the blower is not turning on fast enough, would that allow to much heat to throw the switch. There is a reason I ask. I should have mentioned this before, but I noticed some smoke coming out of the circuit board on what looked to be a relay and it didn't start smoking until the board called for the blower to come on. I tried switching the wires on the taps ex. black wire was on cool and I put it on heat and thats when I first noticed the smell and the smoke. I then switched the wires back and it did the same thing. I got so wrapped up in describing what was going on that I forgot to add that in. Sorry about that.
Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:49 PM   #35
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,132
Rewards Points: 902
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


The blower normally starts after 45 seconds on a timer in the board. What happened, who knows? You need to check the temp rise thru the unit etc. If the board smoked then the unit is REALLY sick and it sounds like it is seriously damaged. Try get the serial # and find out the exact age of it. If you can prove to the customer it is oversized etc then maybe you can sell them a new proper sized unit and a B Vent for the chimney and have the whole unit work properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:11 PM   #36
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


As Yuri said. The blower is on a timer. So it comes on when it should.

Even if you saw smoke come from the board.
Before you do anything else.
CHECK the heat exchanger. No one will be happy with lots of parts. And then find out the heat exchanger is shot.
And then end up being stuck with changing out a heat exchanger in an oversized furnace. And having it burn out in 2 or 3 years.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:17 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
As Yuri said. The blower is on a timer. So it comes on when it should.

Even if you saw smoke come from the board.
Before you do anything else.
CHECK the heat exchanger. No one will be happy with lots of parts. And then find out the heat exchanger is shot.
And then end up being stuck with changing out a heat exchanger in an oversized furnace. And having it burn out in 2 or 3 years.
Your probably right, I beginning to think that I'm trying to put a bandaid on a broken leg. Thanks for the advice on everything.
Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:51 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No. Don't lower the manifold pressure. Causes other headaches.

Clock meter like Yuri said.

The furnace is more likely then not, grossly oversized.
The duct system is undersized.

If you can't get them to replace that furnace with the correct size.
Then make the duct work and supply registers and grille corrections needed to make that furnace safe and usable.

Take the temp rise across the heat exchanger. Suppose that its inputing 100,000BTU and giving you 80,000BTU out.

If its moving 1140CFM, then your temp rise is 65. Which gives you about 5 of safety before exceeding max allowable temp rise.

If your temp rise is above 70, its too high.


Output BTU divided by (temp rise times 1.08) equals CFM.

EG: 80,000/(80X1.08=86.4)=926CFM

The temp rise alone would be too high. But, you would know the CFM its moving. And be able to determine how much more air it needs to be able to move to be back at safe temp rise.




PS: What size house is this furnace in?
What is the easiest way to check gas vent to see if its clogged? The furnace was installed about 2 years ago and ran perfect until recent problems, I can feel the heat radiating off of the inshot burners before the blower starts.
Livewire78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 04:27 AM   #39
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,555
Rewards Points: 4,748
Default

Ready to Pull Hair Out


Open it up and visually inspect it.

Also look inside inducer to make sure nothing is in it.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
faucet hard to pull out? Leprichon Plumbing 14 11-15-2014 01:11 PM
Hog Hair Filter mjbxx HVAC 10 04-10-2009 09:46 AM
konecto prestige absorbing hair color dye 911 Robhen Flooring 9 03-03-2009 03:30 PM
No Pull lube jamiedolan Electrical 7 12-16-2008 01:00 PM
Hair in tub drain danceken Plumbing 5 05-24-2007 09:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts