Re-routing Ductwork. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 08:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


Please see image for my current ductwork setup in my 1500 sq foot bungalow. The duct work that you see is all of the ductwork in the ceiling of the basement (feeding the main floor of the house).

I have a few issues, but my main issue is Trunk 2 (the one that goes to the back of the house. Because of where it punches through the wall, it causes a really ugly bulkhead scenario. What I'm wondering is if Trunk 2, could actually come off of Trunk1 further up the line, somewhere between line A and B? And then, I would run the trunk 2 through the wall and back down to finish where line H is. Would I leave the Trunk 2 at the size that is is now in that scenario?

Alternative idea (if it would work) is, could I punch lines E through H right off of Trunk 1 without the need for Trunk 2 at all?

I'm planning on finishing my basement in the near future, and would like to eliminate as many bulkheads as possible.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Re-routing ductwork.-ducts.jpg  

Advertisement

sc1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


I'll let some of the experienced guys chime in but my first thought on either of your alternatives is that it will work poorly because trunk 1 may not be sized well enough to merely add in E, F, G, and H.

Also, do you have dampers on the takeoffs for runs A. B. C, and D?

Do you ever think you may zone your system?


An alternative; can you move trunk 2 to the left of the wall along trunk 1 and then punch through the wall for each of the runs?

That would leave trunk 1 entirely intact.

Advertisement

Rewound98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rewound98 View Post
I'll let some of the experienced guys chime in but my first thought on either of your alternatives is that it will work poorly because trunk 1 may not be sized well enough to merely add in E, F, G, and H.

Also, do you have dampers on the takeoffs for runs A. B. C, and D?

Do you ever think you may zone your system?


An alternative; can you move trunk 2 to the left of the wall along trunk 1 and then punch through the wall for each of the runs?

That would leave trunk 1 entirely intact.

There are dampers only on one of the lines for some reason (Line D).

Your idea of moving the trunk on the left side of the wall is not a bad idea (since the left side of the wall is crawlspace). Something to ponder.
sc1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


Just curious, which way do the joists run?
Dog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:25 PM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


How long is trunk #1? Why not just have it refabricated to the size need to feed both sides of the wall.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jackofall1 For This Useful Post:
sc1977 (01-31-2012)
Old 01-26-2012, 08:10 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


Why not a supply plenum with individual duct runs to each register? I count a total of 8 drops which is feasible on your average 3' supply plenum if you can use at least three sides. You stand a much better chance of each room receiving the right amount of air. Plus you can install a single damper for each run at the plenum itself.

You can possibly even use a few y's. That's what I would do.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
sc1977 (01-31-2012)
Old 01-31-2012, 08:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re-routing ductwork.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog5 View Post
Just curious, which way do the joists run?
The joists run from the front of the house to the back of the house.


And yes, to the other reponses. Perhaps, just refabricating the main trunk to a larger size would be the answer as it is about 17 ft long. I'll have a professional HVAC person come out and measure. Just thought I'd get some background info first.

Thanks to all.

Advertisement

sc1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would like to Reduce one length of Ductwork? AlmondJoy HVAC 5 11-09-2011 10:12 AM
A/C and Ductwork Efficiency Jessidog HVAC 1 07-29-2011 08:48 PM
Ductwork Insulation tk3000 HVAC 3 11-19-2010 05:08 PM
plastic ductwork vs. metal: acoustic duct liners jjpclev HVAC 5 02-26-2010 08:29 PM
Moving ductwork to accomodate finished basement Badfish740 HVAC 1 01-13-2010 04:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts