Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
Renovating My Land Yacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gulf Coast MS
Posts: 433
Share |
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


Below is a pic of the living room in the house.

The unit is properly sized and they did the manual J etc. Just working on the ducting and the red x shows the current location of the two air registers in the ceiling.

The room faces the west so It does get warm in the afternoon in the summer. Does it make more sense to re-locate the ducts to where the green x's are on the warmer side of the room or would it not make much difference? Would I gain anything with respect to keeping the room cooler.

Thanks Robyn
Attached Thumbnails
Re-location ducts with a new system-ac-question.jpg  

forcedreno2012 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:53 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,730
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


Adding a supply between the 2 green X's would probably help more then just moving the existing.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
forcedreno2012 (04-24-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 11:55 PM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


where are your return airs in that picture?
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:43 AM   #4
Renovating My Land Yacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gulf Coast MS
Posts: 433
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


Beenthere..not sure if we can add another run to make it three in there as we would mess with the manual J I think? Wouldn't that add to the cfm's? right now its sized for two 7 inch ducts.

HVAC the return air is to the right of the red x on the right side. is basically parallel to them on the floor.

Robyn
forcedreno2012 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:57 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


bullhell. a manual j just satisfies what a room's cfm should be. how it's delivered is up to the contractor.

keep supply grills close to the inner wall, vents blowing towards the window to fight the heat load.

btw, if you get three different contractors to perform three different manual j's, you'll get three different results. good luck, I hate conversations of this matter.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
forcedreno2012 (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 01:09 AM   #6
Renovating My Land Yacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Gulf Coast MS
Posts: 433
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


I hear you Doc on the issues and the discussions - try getting quotes on different units and its crazy. And don't even ask why one unit is better than the other .

I started researching and at one point said bugger it, I'm not getting the HVAC replaced...that of course was before it got warm .

I am grateful for all the advice here though, it has saved me some time and led me to get rid of some definite shysters and we have a great installer now, local team and they have been very accommodating for us.

Soooo back on topic, it sounds like from the answers so far I would not gain much by moving the vents, which I am okay with - it was a thought I had (happens now and then) before I tore the old stuff out and ran the new.

Robyn
forcedreno2012 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 03:41 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,730
Default

Re-location ducts with a new system


Do any of your other rooms/areas have a problem cooling. If not, loosing a little air to those areas won't hurt anything.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A strange one - polybutelene piping used in radiant heating system GordCooper Plumbing 4 03-13-2012 10:09 PM
Need Help Buying a Sediment and Water Softener System. vpr80 Plumbing 10 02-23-2012 10:26 AM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.