Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

range hood


Does anyone know the codes regarding the installation of a range hood in a residential kitchen? What is the required height from the top of the stove, and what is the required height above the roof? If you can refrence the sections in the mechanical codebook that would be wonderful! Thanks.

homefixr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

range hood


Code doesn't reference min height for residential range hoods. Follow the manufacturer install instructions for the hood you are installing.

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Plumber101 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (03-05-2012), plummen (03-05-2012)
Old 03-05-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default

range hood


Not even for the venting??
homefixr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

range hood


Which code are you using?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:40 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

range hood


Quote:
Originally Posted by homefixr View Post
Not even for the venting??
Most Ive seen just use a filter in the hood itself
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,546
Default

range hood


Min. 18" over the top of the stove is what I can get away with but, this is what one manufacturer suggest.
http://www.thefactoryoutlet.com/imag.../02251003e.pdf

Last edited by joecaption; 03-05-2012 at 08:56 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default

range hood


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption
18" over the top of the stove.
Now how in the world is anyone supposed to cook with 18" of space above the stove? The pot that I use to boil my potatoes is at least that tall...

homefixr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wiring range hood Neilolo Electrical 3 03-04-2012 02:57 PM
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Alternative to range hood fan Richo HVAC 2 04-11-2010 02:43 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.