Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 06:04 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Depending on the model that furnace MAY NOT be approved for sideways/horz use and may be a serious fire hazard.
Its actually not. The installation manual calls for a vertical vent but I just assumed since it has a draft inducer you could side vent it....it was working fine for several weeks until this.

Doing some more research I think I have my terminology wrong. I was watching a bunch of youtube videos of flame rollouts and that is not what is going on. Well it is but ONLY on ignition and when the unit is hot and it doesn't happen all the time. I think what's happening is that the heat exchanger is building up gasses (maybe from the improper flue setup i have going on) and when it re-ignites the unburnt gasses mixed with fresh fuel and the igniter make it go 'poof'.

The model number is: 80MGF and it's a Lennox brand. The unit is hung horizontally and the flue exhausts 90* then goes 2' to the wall and through a thimble and out. I have another elbow and flue pipe I'm going to go put on right now and see what happens. I'll snap some pics and if I'm adventureous enough with my iPhone i'll take a video of what's happening and post it on youtube with a link for your opinions.

Thanks so Much for all the help!
Albe

Albe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:27 PM   #17
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


...............





Last edited by hvac5646; 03-02-2012 at 06:41 PM.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:31 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,652
Rewards Points: 2,442
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


Actually that is an approved multiposition furnace ( upflow, downflow or sideways, has nothing to do with the venting which our poster is talking about but not done properly anyway.). I checked the install info. Most are upflow only not multiposition. It sounds like it is cycling on the high limit control as there is not enough air going thru it and it is overheating. It SHOULD NOT go poof when starting as that is delayed ignition and could be from the improper venting. I suspect the burners need removing and clean the holes out carefully with a nail or pick and clean the slots. Then flush them thoroughly in hot running water and blow them out with compressed air. It must be vented properly for safety and legal reasons. If you go out the sidewall you have to run it up vertically above the roof line 3 feet and put a proper rain cap on too. Not my favorite Lennox furnace and actually is a pain in the arze to deal with. Has a basic not oversized blower. Builders grade furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 03-02-2012 at 06:40 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:42 PM   #19
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


He still has not stated why the guy he bought it from replaced it.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:09 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,652
Rewards Points: 2,442
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


pain in the arze, probably got tired of fixing it or the cost of doing so. is at least 12-16 yrs old now.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:49 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


Figured out the problem! It had nothing to do with venting per se.

First off the OP only got rid of it because he had good incentive/rebates to get a new high efficiency unit.

When I first installed the unit it worked fine for weeks. After hooking up ductwork was when the problems started. Turns out a piece of insulation lining the heat collector box came loose and was blocking part of the heat exchanger this over heating the exchanger and when the unit would re-light it would go "poof".

So far so good but I'll keep ya'll updated if anything changes. Thanks so much for ALL your help.

Albe
Albe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:35 PM   #22
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace


Aahhh. A wonderful example of the limits of remote communication and diagnostics..

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Flame rollout switch rmason HVAC 5 01-21-2010 07:36 AM
Lennox Merit Series Furnace - Flame Sensor?? dburell HVAC 3 12-29-2009 08:13 PM
gas furnace flame rollout Yoyizit HVAC 45 09-17-2009 08:06 PM
Coleman Furnace - Flame Goes OUT!!!! mmoniz HVAC 1 03-02-2009 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.