Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-02-2012, 07:10 AM   #1

Share |

Random Flame rollout on Gas Furnace

Hi Folks,
I'm new to the DIY chat site but not new to doing handywork of all sorts. I guess you could say i'm a jack of all trades contractor.

I've recently installed a Lenox 80% efficiency furnace in my workshop. It came out of a guys house and i got a good deal on it. The furnace has a draft inducer fan and the unit is hung horizontally. I cheated and stuck the 4" vent right out the side wall (away from combustibles of course). For the first few months it was working perfect then one day it randomly started to produce flame roll outs. I think this started shortly after I hooked up ductwork but I'm not 100% sure.

What happens is this. 'Stat calls for heat. Draft fan kicks on, igniter clicks, gas valve opens and "woosh" we have a nice blue flame that gently fires up. After a minute the room blower kicks on. A few minutes go by, the heat exchanger builds temperature and the gas shuts off. Room blower still runs, thermostat still calling for heat. As the heat exchanger cools the gas fires back up no problem. This cycle happens a few times while its running. Every so often when lighting the flame rolls out. The unit thankfully senses this, waits a few seconds and tries again and succeeds no problem.

This is hanging in my shop near the ceiling and I don't like the idea of flame rollout. Any ideas what could be happening? This only seems to happen when its hot and sporadically at that. I had thought the heat exchanger might be cracked but if it was wouldn't this be a constant problem not intermittent? I cleaned out the turbulators and checked the ignitor. No apparent problems there. The draft fan appears to be working as well.