Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat Missing - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 01:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


I just bought a home that has a furnace and radiant heat system. In the radiant system, there are three zones that feed the kitchen and mud room. The three valves for these zones are wired together and connecteed to the control board. The interesting thing is that there is no thermostat in the kitchen or mud room. Also, there is no wire connected to the control board for these zones. The thermostat connection point on the control board is labeled Ketchen/Mud Room, but nothing is hooked up.

The rest of the system and other zones are working fine. So, was this an oversight during construction? Or is there a reason that these zones were not connected to a thermostat? If I do connect a thermostat and activate them, do I run the risk of having water spray out of a leak? The return side of all the zones are connected to a common manifold so my guess is that I would know if I had a leak by now since I am using other zones from this manifold.

Any advice would be great as the kitchen floor is tile, and it would be nice to have some heat in it this winter.

Thanks

Advertisement

mramber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 02:11 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,814
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


Quote:
Originally Posted by mramber View Post
I just bought a home that has a furnace and radiant heat system. In the radiant system, there are three zones that feed the kitchen and mud room. The three valves for these zones are wired together and connecteed to the control board. The interesting thing is that there is no thermostat in the kitchen or mud room. Also, there is no wire connected to the control board for these zones. The thermostat connection point on the control board is labeled Ketchen/Mud Room, but nothing is hooked up.

The rest of the system and other zones are working fine. So, was this an oversight during construction? Or is there a reason that these zones were not connected to a thermostat? If I do connect a thermostat and activate them, do I run the risk of having water spray out of a leak? The return side of all the zones are connected to a common manifold so my guess is that I would know if I had a leak by now since I am using other zones from this manifold.

Any advice would be great as the kitchen floor is tile, and it would be nice to have some heat in it this winter.

Thanks
Ayuh,.... How about a Picture of the control box, with it's cover off, 'n another of the near boiler plumbing,..??

Advertisement

Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 05:17 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


sounds like it was missed...usually when one stat is done the tech does them all then test the cycles...call somebody they think everything is done....don't be shy if it's anew home call the contractors for him to get the HVAC people back and NO MONEY to happen if older house where was the inspection/engineering report before closing
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 07:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


Attached are pics of what I have

Manifold showing zones 1,2,3 in use, and 4,5,6 for the kitchen/mud room

Control board showing no thermostat wire attached to the right side unit that is wired to zones 4,5,6

Picture of the boiler

Again, my key question is because the return side is a common manifold, there must be pressure in all zones and I would know if there was a leak right?

Also, in looking at these pics, it does appear that there is air in the solenoid side on zones 4,5,6
Attached Thumbnails
Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing-manifold.jpg   Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing-control.jpg   Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing-boiler.jpg  
mramber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


i see five white wires are the others tucked behind the power heads but not connected,thats a new install and that's how they leave the wires and all those wire nuts looks like garbage install..get them back to clean it up and verify controls and stat operations....all zones
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,614
Rewards Points: 2,542
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


agree with biggles..get those guys back have wires done neater and make sure all is hooked up and working.....ben..... no pride in that workmanship...wow.
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:54 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


Thats a spaghetti mess.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:02 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


So what I was looking for here is if I can do anything myself and what my next steps should be. This home has been through foreclosure and has transferred owners a few times. I don't know who did the install and wouldn't know who to call to get them back here. I agree that the wiring is a mess and should be cleaned up.

Now that I have looked more carefully, the top manifold is the feed side from the pump, the solenoids are on the return side. Since the feed side is common, I have to assume that there are no leaks in zones 4,5,6 right? They are under pressure the same as zone 1,2,3 that are working. Next question, if you look at the pipes that connect to zones 4,5,6 they appear lighter in color. I am guessing that there is air in the lines, but that is just my guess. What happens if I manually activate one or all zones 4,5,6? Will this air go into the main system and cause problems?
mramber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:49 AM   #9
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,814
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


Quote:
Since the feed side is common, I have to assume that there are no leaks in zones 4,5,6 right?
Ayuh,... I would assume that's a reasonable assumption...
Quote:
I am guessing that there is air in the lines, but that is just my guess. What happens if I manually activate one or all zones 4,5,6? Will this air go into the main system and cause problems?
In theory, it'll push the air to yer spiro-vent where it'll be exhausted....
Hopefully, replaced by water from the auto-fill valve...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 11:20 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


I turned on zone 6 manually, the circulator pump tuns on and the boiler runs, but water does not circulate in that zone. Is there an adjustment for each zone in the manifold? What is under the black plastic cap below each pipe on the upper feed side? Is this some kind of flow control and if so, can it be shut off completely? Maybe that is why I have no flow in that zone. Or would air in the zone block the flow?
mramber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:11 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Radiant Heat Zone Question - Thermostat missing


Might try:
http://www.uponor.ca/~/media/Files/T...spx?sc_lang=en
for wiring check diagram

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring diagram for three zone in floor radiant heat including pumps. szarapka Plumbing 1 11-05-2011 08:16 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Replacement Thermostat Problem! Confuserated HVAC 8 03-26-2010 09:17 AM
Boiler one zone call heat but not fire up Ballastar Plumbing 6 02-13-2010 12:17 AM
changed thermostat on York Affinity, now no heat? sotwell HVAC 1 03-01-2009 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts