Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 07:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

R22 change out


Hey I am doing my first complete new install. When I am going from R-22 to 410, do I need to install new lines sets? I have a customer that the line sets are running up studding, walls, brick, 3 story, this guy probable has 100 feet of line set and it would be a nightmare to replace. Someone told me you could use some type of acid to burn the line sets. If I have to change them how would I do one this complicated?

Thanks

subcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,758
Rewards Points: 6
Default

R22 change out


cut the sheetrock open and pay for a repair. include in your cost the price of the wall and possible ceiling repair in your bid with installation of new line set. you hire sheetrock/painting company. may need a helper to push and pull, strongly suggested you have one so also include his pay in your bid. I do.

very easy but not needed. use a bunch of nitrogen, triple evac. even easier.

__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 04-22-2013 at 08:15 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 08:31 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

R22 change out


Just blow them out with nitrogen, at a high pressure.

You NEVER use an acid cleaner in a refrigerant line set.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-26-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 05:39 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

R22 change out


I use this http://www.nucalgon.com/products/tsp/rx11-flush when I do change outs and the line set is difficult to replace. It runs about $50-$100 depending on the size can.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:09 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

R22 change out


Not to change the subject , just a couple points.
100 feet is pretty long line set make sure you check the specifications for the length and diameter requirements for the equipment your installing. Just saying.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-26-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 08:02 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

R22 change out


That's right. You may have to upsize them. Check the install info as some manufacturers have their own methods they want followed for reusing line sets. Lennox is now allowing liquid R22 to be flushed/has a procedure as long as it goes into a recovery machine and recycled properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-26-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 01:59 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

R22 change out


If the evap is above the condenser, no need to increase the vapor line size. May not need to increase the liquid line either, depending on height.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-26-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 03:32 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,250
Rewards Points: 4
Default

R22 change out


You don't sound knowlegable enough to handle this project.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:30 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,332
Rewards Points: 14
Default

R22 change out


maybe for your 1st time full install...pass on this one....it may be to much to handle at this point ...no disrespect intended..imo ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (04-26-2013)
Old 04-26-2013, 08:57 AM   #10
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,621
Rewards Points: 22
Default

R22 change out


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
maybe for your 1st time full install...pass on this one....it may be to much to handle at this point ...no disrespect intended..imo ben sr
OK in a previous post you all said that it is not at all necessary to change out the line set if they are properly sized, you just blow the lines with nitrogen. Some also recommended a cleaner that I think you said smelled like alcohol. 100 bucks a gallon is a lot for alcohol, so I would think you guys would find out whats really in the cleaner.

Now what is the issue with the height of the evaporator coil relative to the condenser? My evaporator coil is about 2-3 feet lower than my condenser coil which is on a pad outside. Does this present a problem when switching from an R-22 system to a R410a system? My lines are 3/8 and 3/4 respectively and are only about 35 feet long.

As far as passing on the install, it sounds to me like the guy is asking some pretty basic questions. Maybe he just needs to elaborate a little? Sounds like he is fully engaged at this point.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:12 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

R22 change out


AC compressors if they have to lift the suction vapor more than 10 feet may need to be upsized and have a p trap to get proper oil return. definetly at 20 feet lift. not everyone follows proper piping practices but it makes for good compressor sales later. If the coil is much higher than the cond then gravity does the job BUT the reverse is true for the liquid which now has to be pumped uphill so the line may need upsizing. all depends on the specific manufacturer specs and nowadays that is VERY important. all has to do with the work the comp has to do to suck/lift the vapor and/or pump the liquid. larger lines make it easier to do.you will be OK with your setup but may have to upsize the suction if the manufacturer recommends it. liquid should be OK. once again lots of guys don't follow proper practices and I see LOTS of 3/4' fittings on conds squashed down to 5/8 and re-using the old smaller 5/8 line. works but is NOT a good idea in the long run.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-26-2013), COLDIRON (04-26-2013)
Old 04-26-2013, 09:24 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

R22 change out


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
OK in a previous post you all said that it is not at all necessary to change out the line set if they are properly sized, you just blow the lines with nitrogen. Some also recommended a cleaner that I think you said smelled like alcohol. 100 bucks a gallon is a lot for alcohol, so I would think you guys would find out whats really in the cleaner.

Now what is the issue with the height of the evaporator coil relative to the condenser? My evaporator coil is about 2-3 feet lower than my condenser coil which is on a pad outside. Does this present a problem when switching from an R-22 system to a R410a system? My lines are 3/8 and 3/4 respectively and are only about 35 feet long.

As far as passing on the install, it sounds to me like the guy is asking some pretty basic questions. Maybe he just needs to elaborate a little? Sounds like he is fully engaged at this point.
" We already know what's in the cleaner"
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:14 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 0
Default

R22 change out


This is a good question though...I have a 35 year old air conditioner I am scheduled to replace this summer. The lines go inside of drop-tile ceinling in my basement for about 12 feet. I am wondering if I need to take the tile out, or if the new system will be able to use the old lineset.
av-geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:40 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,079
Rewards Points: 50
Default

R22 change out


While many still practice up sizing vapor lines on lifts of 20 to 30 foot.Many manufacturers recommend against it. They have found out it can impede oil return due to the velocity being too low. Same as a trap can help or hinder. R410A requires a higher velocity for good oil return then R22 does.

Liquid line size should only be increased if the liquid line pressure drop will exceed 35PSIG for r22, and 50 PSIG for R410A. On some heat pumps increasing liquid line size is detrimental in heating mode.

All manufacturers have extended piping guides that should be used in long line and or extended lift applications. 50 long is not a long line set. 20 foot of height is common.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:43 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

R22 change out


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
While many still practice up sizing vapor lines on lifts of 20 to 30 foot.Many manufacturers recommend against it. They have found out it can impede oil return due to the velocity being too low. Same as a trap can help or hinder. R410A requires a higher velocity for good oil return then R22 does.

Liquid line size should only be increased if the liquid line pressure drop will exceed 35PSIG for r22, and 50 PSIG for R410A. On some heat pumps increasing liquid line size is detrimental in heating mode.

All manufacturers have extended piping guides that should be used in long line and or extended lift applications. 50 long is not a long line set. 20 foot of height is common.
nowadays that is the main thing. some of what I am talking about is related to pure Refrigeration piping theory as I am a Journeyman in that and had it drilled into me at school. very interesting stuff though.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't Start, Won't Change Gears fatcatsam2 Automotive Repairs 9 01-04-2011 04:37 PM
Can't afford to change out Zinsco panel - best next step? dwoloz Electrical 12 08-20-2010 12:28 PM
is UG conduit size change legal? krazni Electrical 1 07-13-2010 02:17 PM
How hard is it to change locks/tumblers? abefroman Remodeling 4 03-04-2009 08:33 AM
change color of flooring and other wood finishing, possible? KUIPORNG Remodeling 3 07-20-2006 06:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.