Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 03:17 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Questions about installing a new thermostat


I have extra wires available in the bundle. I need one to run a C wire, as the new tstat stays lit, and also uses WiFi. Since I have an additional wire available I guess I'll try it and see if it makes a difference.
Yuri, thanks for the tip about checking the electrical section in the manual. I found a diagram in the manual which shows that if I use W2, "if wire is connected, dip switch No 1 on furnace control should be set to ON position to allow thermostat to control furnace staging". The dip switches are clearly marked 1, 2, 3 and off/on, so I'll flip #1 on and give it a try. If I don't like it, or don't notice a difference, I'll switch it back.
Thanks for all the advice, all! I've never done any of this before, but I'm learning a bunch!

miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:23 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Questions about installing a new thermostat


Have fun flippin your dips.

Apparently you are supposed to make sure the furnace is NOT calling for heat after flippin it and on it's first startup. Like a computer which it is it checks those dip switch positions and burns them to memory. If it is calling for heat it will use the old position irregardless of the new switch position.

I do mostly Lennox and did tons of those Carriers also.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:56 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Default

Questions about installing a new thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Have fun flippin your dips.

Apparently you are supposed to make sure the furnace is NOT calling for heat after flippin it and on it's first startup. Like a computer which it is it checks those dip switch positions and burns them to memory. If it is calling for heat it will use the old position irregardless of the new switch position.

I do mostly Lennox and did tons of those Carriers also.
Meaning I have to run an a/c cycle first?
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:02 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Questions about installing a new thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by miscrap View Post
Meaning I have to run an a/c cycle first?
No, just have the power turned off to it when you switch the dip.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-23-2013)
Old 09-23-2013, 04:48 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Questions about installing a new thermostat


Have the tstat set to OFF, not heat or cool or fan ON and power OFF when flipping the switch. Nothing must be asked to run when you first power it up. That is also good practice when starting any furnace after changing a board.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-23-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing New Shower - Multiple Questions timidir Plumbing 7 02-13-2013 11:33 PM
Questions on installing a bathroom vent on a Mansard Roof GaryGday Roofing/Siding 3 08-31-2012 10:46 AM
Having trouble installing a new thermostat Khaos2639 HVAC 17 08-03-2011 08:48 PM
Installing unfinished wood flooring, and have a few questions. 240sx4u Flooring 2 01-19-2011 03:25 PM
Installing new thermostat Jarhad HVAC 1 02-28-2010 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.