Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 12:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Question on running ductwork for roof vent


Hello,

I've installed ductwork for a vent on an island cooktop that runs through the roof into a roof cap. My question revolves around the ductwork meeting the roof. When I ran the ductwork above the roof cutout, I actually bent the sides over so that the ductwork sits flush with the roof. Then I placed the roof cap over the ductwork (sealded properly with roof tar). Is this appropriate?

I had looked back at the instructions for the roof cap and they do say to allow the ductwork to rise no more than 3/4" above the roof (doh!!). I'm guessing this is in case water gets underneath the roof cap, it doesn't flow into the ductwork, correct?

Am I OK leaving as is or should I run new ductwork so that it rises 3/4" above the roof line into the cap? Wouldn't be too hard, since I have the drywall open and can slide a new line up and into the opening.

Thanks in advance!

Chad

pedechad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,727
Default

Question on running ductwork for roof vent


Need some pictures so we can see what you've done.
Should have been something like this.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=0

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Question on running ductwork for roof vent


Sorry. I used the Broan roof cap that's made to accept up to 8" round ductwork. It looks like it isn't set up to mount directly to the ductwork, rather it gets placed over it.

I wasn't sure if my ductwork has to extend beyond the actual roof into the cap. Not sure if its a code issue for combustibles since I don't have that tight fitting to the actual cap. Rather the ductwork "dumps" into the cap, sitting flush with roof.
pedechad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,727
Default

Question on running ductwork for roof vent


I've never installed duct work above the roof line.
All my connections are done inside the attic attached with duct work screws and wrapped with foil tape .
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on vent pipe for oil furnace/direct vent myfirstrodeo HVAC 0 11-13-2012 09:09 PM
Question about Dryer Vent EarlW Appliances 3 11-02-2012 10:14 AM
Water Heater Vent Question pd417 Plumbing 1 05-15-2010 12:34 PM
question about a direct vent gas wall furnace utilitylocator HVAC 1 03-16-2010 08:52 AM
Running network wiring in a cold air return vent? mcvane Electrical 26 04-19-2007 07:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.