Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 08:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


For new home construction, it is common for HVAC contractors to install the line set weeks/sometimes months in advance of the air conditioning unit. Is it not proper technique to seal the line set and even leave a small nitrogen charge to prevent air and moisture inside the line set?

Duncan Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


I personally would not install a line set that far ahead.... if you do it should be sealed .. nitrogen really not required at this point unless piping getting covered and you want to ensure pipes not leaking... i.e. dry wall screw

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:14 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


That depends on how it is routed, but its not that uncommon here as building schedules vary. A contractor get an allotted time to do their work and then the next contractor gets their time. It works this way to keep the process of building organized and so contractors are not stepping on each other. The lineset should be sealed though.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:43 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


Very common and usually because we can get the entire system on the inside installed well before the electricians can get an electrical service let alone circuits run, usually weeks to months before. No need to set the condenser until the home is on it's final inspection as on a construction sight it will walk off.

I've taped the ends off but never nitro filled. New nitrogen and an evacuation will be fine come time.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,230
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


Yes, many builders install the lines during the building process. Years ago we used to install precharged lines in hundreds of houses while they were being built then when they were complete we come back and install the condensers and finish the heater room. Remember the lines were precharged and sealed.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:59 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


The line set should definitely be sealed and pressurized with dry nitrogen. Reason being is 410A refrigerant with its POE oil is way more susceptible to moisture problems than R22.
gumptown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 04:47 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,626
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


line set installers might just be that...with nothing to braze fittings,nitro and regualtors just slam them in an go to the next,even just tape as mentioned or crimp the ends would be an effort in the right direction.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:22 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,230
Default

Question Regarding Installation of a new line set for 410A


Never seen just " Lineset Installers".

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Level Line for Baseboard installation williamwiens Carpentry 20 02-12-2011 11:08 PM
Schluter Ditra installation question epsilon Flooring 3 09-25-2010 09:34 PM
2 line jet pump question easygoin4 Plumbing 6 08-06-2010 07:01 AM
Installation of Granite Tile On Shower Walls Spacing Question. taras1 Building & Construction 2 08-04-2010 11:48 AM
Tile installation question pjpjpjpj Carpentry 7 09-21-2008 11:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.