Question On Estimate Vs. HP Unit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-25-2012, 07:56 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Question on estimate vs. HP unit

Hi all, newbie here, been reading the forums for a long time now for various things and decided no better time than now to register since I have a question to ask that could potentially cost me thousands lol.

So anyhow, for the last 4yrs. our sole heat source has been a Hotblast 1557M burning about 95% wood and 5% coal. I'm finally to the point where I can afford to have a heat pump and electric furnace/air handler installed. So, today one of the contractors I called showed up for the free estimate. He turned out to be a pretty cool guy, and gave me the history of his family-owned/operated HVAC company. I've been doing a lot of research on local contractors, and he/his company has a great track-record for installation as well as service-calls, so as far as his company goes, I feel very comfortable hiring him.

However, for my question... After we did a lot of talking, he did his walk around, etc. He gave me a written estimate of $3,500 for the install.. this includes everything except the two 60 amp breakers I need which I told him I would pick up (a family friend is an electrician and has all the breakers my heart could desire lol). This also includes a new plenum, as well as re-routing the current 8" ducts I have coming out of my wood furnace into the homes duct work (the hotblast will still be, for the most part, our primary heat source as I get all my firewood for free just gotta work for it).. The manufacturer he said he would get is Armstrong.. air handler w/ 15kw strip and variable speed blower and 2.5 ton 14 SEER, 8.5 HSPF rating..