Question About Replacing Line Voltage Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


Hello DIYers,

I am attempting to replace a line voltage thermostat for my electric baseboard heater. I had a few questions, please bear with me:
  1. The old thermostat has screw terminals where the wires attached (photo #1), but the new thermostat (photo #2) has wires directly attached. How should I attach these wires to the wires in the wall - wire nuts?
  2. The old thermostat had a green grounding screw, but I don't see any such thing in the new thermostat (photo #2). Where does the ground wire from the wall need to go?
  3. I am not sure how the wires match up. In the wall, there are 2 sets of wires - each set has 1 white and 1 black. In the new thermostat, there are 2 sets of wires - but each set has 1 red and 1 black. Does black go to black and red go to white?
  4. There is some green corrosion and some blackening on a few of the wires in the wall. Could this be from moisture? Is the wire still OK to use?
  5. It's hard to see in the photos, but the plastic electrical box in the wall is broken - a piece of the plastic broke off from the main one. Do I need to put a new box in?

    Thank you so much - sorry for all the questions, you guys are always so helpful!

    // Joe
Attached Thumbnails
Question about replacing line voltage thermostat-20120110_221507.jpg   Question about replacing line voltage thermostat-20120110_230245.jpg   Question about replacing line voltage thermostat-20120110_222450.jpg  

Advertisement

thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


Yup, cut off the burned and corroded ends of the wires and wire nut the newly stripped ends to the new wires. Might want to 'weather proof' the wire nuts by wrapping them in electrical tape so the nuts stay tight.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:32 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


You may want to ask in the electrical section of this forum if a junction box or the likes may be needed to contain those wire splices to be up to code. If so that is another can of worms entirely.
__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 01-11-2012 at 04:43 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:59 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


that looks like 115V in the colors of he wires but that white is taking the same hit as the black and over heating the insulation tell me its 208V/230V total break on power line in.check the amp rating on that new switch vs the old one.taking you into another direction might consider breking that down to 24V with a transformer and regular contactor so you can go with a programmable stat and 24V controlling out of that hole in the wall..just a suggestion
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 346
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


Yes, put the blacks with the blacks and the reds with the whites. That is a scary mess you got there, I'm curious as to why those wires got so hot, hopefully just a bad connection.
Also from the pic, that junction box doesnt look very deep, would be better if you could replace it with a new deeper one and use proper sized wire nuts on your connections.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 346
Default

Question about replacing line voltage thermostat


I just looked at your pics again and I can see one reason why the wires got so hot, the wire wasnt really even looped around the screw terminals, just kind of shoved barely into one side.
Make darn sure you clean out the bad section of wire before using it again.

Advertisement


Last edited by sammy37; 01-12-2012 at 11:33 AM.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 06:35 PM
Flickering lights on circuit with low voltage and line voltage bulbs davidwiesel Electrical 4 04-18-2011 09:54 AM
Connecting line voltage thermostat acftmech Electrical 8 12-09-2010 08:17 AM
wiring a line voltage programmable thermostat cedar HVAC 0 10-24-2009 11:30 PM
Thermostat wiring question sob HVAC 11 10-21-2009 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts