Question About My Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2015, 03:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Question about my thermostat


Ever since I found out that my thermostat is on the same circuit as my furnace I've been puzzled about something. Does that mean that if I flip that breaker off does that mean my A?C wouldn't work? I mean the A/C is also controlled by that thermostat so if that is not on then the A/C would't work right?

Appreciate any thoughts.

Advertisement

lcm1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 05:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,948
Rewards Points: 2,252
Default

Question about my thermostat


That's correct, if the thermostat is powered by 24 volts AC from the furnace transformer. If the thermostat runs on batteries, then no.

Advertisement

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
lcm1947 (05-11-2015)
Old 05-10-2015, 06:57 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 28,094
Rewards Points: 7,762
Default

Question about my thermostat


Most likely your A/C uses the furnace blower to move the cooled air. So you can't shut it off if you want cooling.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
lcm1947 (05-11-2015)
Old 05-10-2015, 07:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 5,325
Rewards Points: 1,248
Default

Question about my thermostat


yep no power to t stat means you can't pull in contactor at a/c unit to start it..
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 08:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Question about my thermostat


Thanks for the replies gentlemen. I kinda figured that but then thought that that didn't make much sense so just had to ask the question. Now I know for sure. Thanks!

Still seems strange but if that's the way it is that's the way it is.
lcm1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 06:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 5,325
Rewards Points: 1,248
Default

Question about my thermostat


welcome ...it is what it is...

Advertisement

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
lcm1947 (05-11-2015)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about thermostat wiring - carrier Furnace and AC Dereks HVAC 2 02-13-2015 11:53 PM
Thermostat question 78Vette HVAC 21 12-22-2014 08:01 AM
question on old thermostat wiring for upgrade jthn HVAC 2 01-02-2011 11:07 PM
Question on installing an Honeywell RTH6350 programmable thermostat. outdoorted HVAC 3 01-02-2011 06:48 PM
Thermostat question ctown HVAC 7 12-05-2006 03:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts