Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 11:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


We just bought a new house around 2900 sqft. It has 2 floors, with separate heat pump system. Yesterday the temperature dropped to about 30 degree and we set the thermostat at 62. I noticed that the heat pump is up for over 3/4 of the time, and that translates into over $.7 per hour of electricity bill, which I considered to be ridiculously expensive considering we set it at 62 and we are in the south.

I started to record the duration of its on and off time and noticed that at first, it took about 15-16 minutes to rise the temperature from around 59/60 to 62. But after a few on/off cycles, it started to take much longer (over 30 minutes) to regain the 62 target temperature. once at 62, it only took 6 minutes for the temperate to drop below and thus the heat pump started to run again.

We set the upstairs thermostat at a even lower temperature because and it's off most of the time.

My house is rather new and should be very well insulated. We actually had a specialist evaluated our house and he commented that we don't have much to improve.

So my question is: does it look like that our heat pump is not working properly?

deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 11:26 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Looks like its working fine.

When you raised the set temp from 59 to 62. You brought in the electric aux heat. So it didn't run long. Then when the heat pump was maintaining temp without the aux heat. It will run longer. But use much less electric.

With the aux heaters on it use 2 to 4 times as much electric as when its just the heat pump running at 30F outdoor temp.

Since heated air rises. The first floor heat pump is helping to heat the second floor also.

Unless you have a way of locking out your aux heat. Don't use set back with a heat pump. It can cost a lot more to recover then what you saved.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 11:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


Thanks for the advice.

Another thing I noticed about the heat pump is that yesterday, while it was running, I noticed water vapor floating by my window. I went outside and check the unit. I noticed that it's emitting warm air. Was the heat pump trying to defrost itself? As I stated earlier, it's not really freezing outside. I wonder if there couldn't still be this need.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Looks like its working fine.

When you raised the set temp from 59 to 62. You brought in the electric aux heat. So it didn't run long. Then when the heat pump was maintaining temp without the aux heat. It will run longer. But use much less electric.

With the aux heaters on it use 2 to 4 times as much electric as when its just the heat pump running at 30F outdoor temp.

Since heated air rises. The first floor heat pump is helping to heat the second floor also.

Unless you have a way of locking o ut your aux heat. Don't use set back with a heat pump. It can cost a lot more to recover then what you saved.

Last edited by deerhunter; 01-31-2010 at 12:01 PM.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Normal for heat to come from it in defrost, and for a couple seconds after defrost.
Was the fan running when you went outside and checked it, and had heat coming out of it.

The outdoor unit can frost over at temps in the 40's depending on other conditions.

It may be 30F outside. But, in heat mode, the outdoor coil will be 25F and less.

Moisture vapor is common during defrost.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


I think the fan was running, and warm air was coming out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Normal for heat to come from it in defrost, and for a couple seconds after defrost.
Was the fan running when you went outside and checked it, and had heat coming out of it.

The outdoor unit can frost over at temps in the 40's depending on other conditions.

It may be 30F outside. But, in heat mode, the outdoor coil will be 25F and less.

Moisture vapor is common during defrost.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:26 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Next time you see vapor. Go out and check it again. And remember to look to see if the fan IS running.

Lots of people see the vapor. Will look at the unit, and feel the heat. But not realize that the fan wasn't on when they first got to the unit.

If the fan is on, and its blowing out warm air for more then a few seconds. Then something is wrong.

Have you lived in a house that had a heat pump before.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


No. Previously I lived in an apartment with AC and gas furnace.

By the way, I remember warm air was coming out from the sides of the unit. The fan was on the top. So I think the fan shouldn't be running at that time, because if it did, air shouldn't be coming out from the sides.



Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Next time you see vapor. Go out and check it again. And remember to look to see if the fan IS running.

Lots of people see the vapor. Will look at the unit, and feel the heat. But not realize that the fan wasn't on when they first got to the unit.

If the fan is on, and its blowing out warm air for more then a few seconds. Then something is wrong.

Have you lived in a house that had a heat pump before.

Last edited by deerhunter; 01-31-2010 at 12:50 PM.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Thought not.

Your asking the same basic questions that first time heat pump owners/users usually ask.

You'll find they can do lots of things that seem strange at first.


Again. Avoid using set backs if your aux heat is not locked out. Or it will use more electric then you saved.

Can you post the mod numbers of the outdoor and indoor units.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 01:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


Thanks for the advice. We used to setback the thermostat quite a lot. I guess that's why our last electricity bill was so high.

The model # of the outdoor unit is H2H360GKA100, and the indoor unit is FSM2X6000A.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Thought not.

Your asking the same basic questions that first time heat pump owners/users usually ask.

You'll find they can do lots of things that seem strange at first.


Again. Avoid using set backs if your aux heat is not locked out. Or it will use more electric then you saved.

Can you post the mod numbers of the outdoor and indoor units.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 03:57 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


5 ton unit.
So you probably have 20 KW of aux heat. So that is a lot of electric when the aux comes on to recover.

Yep. That set back will drink some electric.
Maintain a set temp, and your electric bill will be much lower.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:07 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


Another question I have is that when I replace the air filter, I noticed that there is an opening at the corner where the two walls of the well behind the air filter (for air intake of the HVAC system, I am not sure what it is called) meet. I suppose it opens into the space between interior walls. Isn"t the well supposed to be sealed? Is this opening a big problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
5 ton unit.
So you probably have 20 KW of aux heat. So that is a lot of electric when the aux comes on to recover.

Yep. That set back will drink some electric.
Maintain a set temp, and your electric bill will be much lower.
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 06:31 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Wall cavity?

It can be. Depends if that cavity is allowing it to pull fresh air in.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 03:24 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about my heat pump


I did some research and find that heat pump may have an inner filter that needs to be replaced and the coils need to be cleaned. So I decide to open the case of the indoor unit and take a look. I find some stain on the pan and coils. I attached two pictures. Does it look like there is leakage?
Attached Thumbnails
Question about my heat pump-_igp4790.jpg   Question about my heat pump-_igp4791.jpg  
deerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:29 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Question about my heat pump


Looks good from here. Water stain and a little rust just means it's pulling moisture from the air in AC mode just like it should.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 06:42 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Question about my heat pump


Yep. looks fine in the pic.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump compressor shuts down bkent HVAC 1 04-20-2009 08:03 AM
Heat Pump set back GEAF HVAC 6 01-26-2009 08:49 AM
Easy Heat Pump Question brutis HVAC 6 11-03-2008 11:06 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.