Question About Connecting Wires To The RTH2300 (honeywell) Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat


Hello:

Trying to install the new thermostat (Honeywell RTH2300B) but I ran into something I wanted to confirm prior to switching the power back on.

some notes:
1) There were only 2 wires in the previous thermostat (red and white - connected to R and W terminals)
2) There is a pre-installed jumper in the new thermostat between the R and RC connectors (it's stated to leave the jumper in unless I have both a R and RC wires connected)
3) I have a gas furnace with no heat pump (that I know of)

Question:
Should I put in the red wire while the jumper is connected in the R slot? There isn't much room to put the red wire in that slot.
Also, they talk about jumper JP2 in a later section regarding heat pumps - with leaving the jumper in the pre-set position if I have an O wire connected to the O/B terminal or adjust the jumper if I have a B wire connected to the O/B terminal. I don't have a heat pump and therefore none of these wires. Do I take the jumper plastic thing off or just leave it as factory setting?

Also confirming that the wires go in the top of the jumper section - the instructions aren't that clear - that and I'm not very familiar with anything electrical.

Any help is appreciated.

Advertisement


Last edited by crap_at_diy; 11-26-2011 at 10:15 PM.
crap_at_diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat


hook up the red to either of the two terminals with the jumper, hook up the white to w

Advertisement

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:27 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat


You're only concerned with b/o if you have a heat pump and as you said, you do not.

seeing as how you do not have a Y terminal (at least not mentioned) you can simply remove the jumper and install red on R terminal. Rc means r-cool. If you had a wire connected to the Y teminal than rc is what feeds it, hence the jumper as any R terminal is the power to stat.

It would not matter if the jumper stays to rc or not if you do not have cooling hooked up.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat


Thanks for the feedback! I've kept the JP2 jumper as the factory spec and kept the jumper between r and the other one the same.

Appreciate your help.
crap_at_diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Need help connecting Trane TZEMT400 Thermostat; no 'C' wire / 24VAC dinki HVAC 1 04-04-2011 07:28 PM
Honeywell thermostat wiring wcb22 HVAC 5 01-10-2011 06:54 AM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 07:38 PM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts