Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 10:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


I have a carrier FB4ANF036 air handler/air conditioning system. I have a boiler system for heat, but it crapped out on me this past year. Considering the age of the boiler (1966) I would rather remove the boiler system in its entirety and replace it with a forced air system. MY question is, is there an option to use my current air handler set-up for heating as well as cooling?

firechicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:16 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


Just need a a-coil in it. As long as the duct work serves the whole structure, you should be fine.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


installing a heat exchanger and burner section might be possible with a fan speed change for heating usually LO/Med LO.if you exsisting supply fan is one speed it would have to be changed....call around for add ons.they will most likely try you to go for new FURNACE with new coil
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:41 AM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


electric strips could easily be added to the AHU as long as you have a large enough electrical service for your home. This would be the cheapest way to upgrade the AHU to serve for heat. However, electric strip heat is expensive to run so you would want to change the a/c to a heat pump and by the time you do all that you might as well have installed a gas forced air furnace with a new evap coil and keep your existing condenser.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


You can get a Heatpump
ResidentialTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:00 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,369
Default

Question about Carrier air handler


Yes, you can get a heat pump to match to that air handler, and have a strip heater package put into it, and use it to heat your entire house. if as said earlier, it has duct work serving the entire house. It may or may not give you as comfortable heat as your boiler system did.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MXA furnace question Jen G HVAC 2 11-24-2010 03:33 PM
Compare Carrier Model 25HNA936A003 versus Model 25HPA636 gchapman General DIY Discussions 0 11-02-2010 12:52 PM
Carrier air handler model FK4D HK61EA005? mikec57 HVAC 2 10-13-2010 09:26 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Air handler question a12548 HVAC 1 06-25-2008 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.