Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 02:31 PM   #1
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Share |
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


I have an older Lennox natural gas forced air furnace in my house. It has the hammock style filter cage. My cold air trunk comes off the left side of the furnace and that side of the cage is always filthy.. but the rest of the filter is clean. Seems like a big waste of a large filter. I was thinking about modifying the cold air trunk to use one of the mainstream off the shelf filters.

How do I size the correct thickness of filter? Obviously I can't install a filter larger than the trunk.. so thickness is my only variable.

Also do they make kits to do this? I have no problem working with tin.. just want to make this look as pro as possible.

Other than that.. the furnace still works great.



That's the only pic I have of my furnace.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:50 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:24 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,312
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


If you have a damper in the venting right where it attaches to the furnace that is the bimetal autoflo type I would get rid of it ASAP. When they fail they spill fumes into your house. The metal inside hardens up/slows down and they are deadly and no longer sold.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:47 PM   #4
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
If you have a damper in the venting right where it attaches to the furnace that is the bimetal autoflo type I would get rid of it ASAP. When they fail they spill fumes into your house. The metal inside hardens up/slows down and they are deadly and no longer sold.

Good to know. Thank you. I will swap that out! Do you want a better picture to identify it? What do you swap it out with a straight section?

As for the other guy... is that a piece I can buy at a heating store?
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:52 PM   #5
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


I checked it out just now and it looks fairly new and the actuator moves freely... still swap it out?
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:53 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,312
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


Does it have a motor to drive it open?
The manual heat actuated bi-metal ones are very unsafe. In Canada we had some sold/made by Autoflo and I am sure other companies made them. Get RID of it no matter what!! Use a straight piece of pipe. They had a legal disclaimer that it needed checking once a year, ya right, still failed anyway when you least expected it. You have no space between your return duct and the furnace (offset) so you cannot install a 1" filter rack. Those hammock filters are not expensive so I would keep using it.

Last edited by yuri; 09-17-2009 at 08:57 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:56 PM   #7
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
In Canada we had some sold/made by Autoflo and I am sure other companies made them. Get RID of it no matter what!! Use a straight piece of pipe. They had a legal disclaimer that it needed checking once a year, ya right, still failed anyway when you least expected it. You have no space between your return duct and the furnace (offset) so you cannot install a 1" filter rack. Those hammock filters are not expensive so I would keep using it.
Thanks for the heads up. Ya I would have to replace the last section of cold air trunk in order to move the cold air away from the furnace... prbly not worth it.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 06:20 AM   #8
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


The actuator is manual now... but it looks like it could be motor controlled. There's a mounting flange with 2 screw holes where you could mount something electronic.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 11:16 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Putting a filter in my cold air trunk?


The side where the air enters from. Will always get the dirtiest.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Faucet Cold Water Runs Hot Mthrboard Plumbing 8 08-02-2009 06:59 AM
Bypass Humidifier goes before or after air filter? key1cc HVAC 9 12-30-2008 09:12 AM
Help with low pressure cold water upstairs lewissv Plumbing 5 01-26-2007 08:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.