Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 03:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Greetings:

Condensate trap on my Ruud Achiever 90Plus (4 year old) started leaking. The leak was around the two input line connectors. I removed the condensate trap and wired it directly to the drain. My question is whether the sole purpose of the condensate drain/neutralizer is to prevent sewer/drain smell reaching the furnace room. If that is the case, I already have a vent for the drain line - right before where it is getting connected to the furnace drain. Am I hurting anything else by removing the condensate trap?
Do I need to replace the condensate drain - or may be just get a metal clamp and tighten the hose that is getting connected to it?

Thanks
Shaw

sj22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 04:45 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


The trap is required by code.
It serves 2 purposes.
1, prevents carbon monoxide and other combusted gases from being put into the air/drain lines. That may not be properly trapped.
2, it provides a negative pressure so that the pressure switch can sense if the inducer is pulling enough draft through the Heat Exchanger.

Although it is working now. Good chance it will stop working down the road without the trap.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 12:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Thank you beenthere,
I have taken out the condensate trap and ran water through it, it don't seem to have any leak, so I am thinking may be a clamp to tighten the hose coming in will do the trick.
Will keep you posted.

Also, since I have the unit open, is there any preventive maintenance that I should do ?

-Shaw
sj22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 12:33 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Sometimes, the trap will clog. And the hoses are loose enough that the water comes out.
Then when you remove the trap, the small amount of gunk/dirt is knocked loose, and washes out without you really seeing it.

Hose clamps will take care of loose fitting hoses.
Double check that the hoses aren't cracking.

Make sure the drain ports of the furnace are clear also.
Other then that, not a lot you can do, that you shouldn't have a manomter for to check that everything is working right.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 02:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


beenthere,
I will check and make sure no cracks on the hose. But having hard time figuring out how to check the drain on the furnace. I have the bottom panel out, the hose kind of disappears into the back. Do I have to take anything else out to check the drain?

-Shaw
sj22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 09:40 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


If you can't get to the port.
You can blow throught the hose, to try and make sure its clear.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 08:08 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


I am not a HVAC technician but, I also had a similar problem this year with a water leak from my furnace. It turned out to be the condensate trap was plugged solid with mold and/or algae and one of the hoses to the trap was cracked. I had to completely remove the trap from the side of the furnace and run water through it in the sink. The amount of stuff that I flushed out from the condensate trap was amazing.
BlueStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 09:09 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,000
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Trick of the trade: ZIP ties/tie wraps work real well in tight places on those hoses, you can cinch them up real tight. Hose clamps can be real hard to install in small places.

Cheers
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 09:23 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


I put the trap back on, with hose clamps and still there is a slight leak (drip) from the pipe out. [two inlets has hose clamps on. Out is a molded pipe that is part of the cap. While testing it under the kitchen sink, it flow out without any leak. I cannot visually locate any breaks on the out pipe]

May be time to replace it ? where could I find one ?

Thanks
-Shaw
sj22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 11:49 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Each year we have trouble with our condensate trap freezing on the furnace at our cabin (we don't leave the heat on when during the winter). This year when we came up in the winter it had frozen and cracked the trap. If the trap is required by code is there a way to keep it from freezing?
mtrulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 04:20 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,503
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Drain it.
Thats the only way.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:22 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Purpose of condensate drain/neutralizer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sj22 View Post
Greetings:

Condensate trap on my Ruud Achiever 90Plus (4 year old) started leaking. The leak was around the two input line connectors. I removed the condensate trap and wired it directly to the drain. My question is whether the sole purpose of the condensate drain/neutralizer is to prevent sewer/drain smell reaching the furnace room. If that is the case, I already have a vent for the drain line - right before where it is getting connected to the furnace drain. Am I hurting anything else by removing the condensate trap?
Do I need to replace the condensate drain - or may be just get a metal clamp and tighten the hose that is getting connected to it?

Thanks
Shaw
I am having the same trouble. Took me a while to find the leak but the 90 degree outlet was leaking around the base. Took 4 months to fill the bottom of the furnace with water and then it came dripping out of the corner. I took the condensation trap off and siliconed around the base of the 90. It is curing as I type this. Hopefully it will fix the leak.
Freddy

Freddy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condensate pump install question kboorman HVAC 6 07-06-2012 07:54 PM
KNOWLEDGABLE condensate advice needed Nestor_Kelebay HVAC 5 11-23-2008 07:06 PM
Condensate and Humidity rosehillraymond HVAC 5 07-22-2008 08:21 PM
Attic A/C Unit Condensate Trap bardad1022 HVAC 3 06-25-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.