Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 07:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


My motor went on my furnace today went and picked up another one and its got a few extra wires on it then the old one, on the old one the wires used were red, white and black, so i got the new one and hooked up sames ones, there is 2 purple wires also yellow and a brown the purple wires are a starter im guessing you need to touch them together to get it to start and also to stop, being im no electrician thats what i gather so i turned the fan to on all the time on thermostat so we have heat for now but how do i do this properly??????

SteveLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:16 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


There should be a schematic on the motor. What is the model number of the motor?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:18 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


I would guess (without seeing what you have) that you've picked up a motor that requires a capaciter, hence the two extra purple wires. Most motors come with a schematic that should show you that. You will need to pick up the proper sized capaciter and then sheet metal screw a strap to hold it on the outside of the fan cage within range of those purple wires.. You should also use a rubber cap or insulater on the exposed connections on the capaciter to prevent anyone from getting an accidental nasty shock in the future.

Last edited by how; 10-21-2012 at 08:32 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:35 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


i did some research it is model OLE1036H , and its for a lennox firnace i have a bryant, looked it up and it does require a capasitor, so if i get a cap for it i shouldnt have and other problems being im not using the proper motor in this furnace?
SteveLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:42 PM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


Check if your new motor has the same features.

1/3 HP
1075 RPM
2.6 Amps
Capacitor 7.5MFD
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:00 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


all i know without ripping it out again its for a lennox its a 1/3 hp 4 speed A.O Smith motor it looks exactly like the old one A.O. smith model 321p591 , except has the extra wires, my wife might kill me if i start ripping the furnace apart again when its cold
SteveLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:03 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


your wife might kill you if your new motor fails because it is not wired properly, but it may have already done the damage and is too late anyway.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


what kinda damage we talking about here, i put it in put the fan on the on all the time and its been going good for last 4 hours or so, if something were to go wrong it shoulda happened right away??
SteveLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:16 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


I dont know how you have it wired exactly so I can't comment on specifics. If you don't have a capacitor installed then who knows what damage has been done to the windings. I can't find a pdf with the schematic for your motor. You will have to pull it to look on the motor and see how the schematic shows it wired.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:35 PM   #10
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


Please tell us how you made the blower motor works without the capacitor.....you're a genius..
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:31 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


All we did was touch the purple wires and ot started and if you touch them again it will stoo. No genius involved.
SteveLang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:51 AM   #12
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purple wires on A.O Smith motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveLang View Post
All we did was touch the purple wires and ot started and if you touch them again it will stoo. No genius involved.

can you take a picture of the motor label and post it?

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower Motor Wiring reversed? HVACMac HVAC 60 08-30-2011 02:10 PM
Carrier Hi 90 Furnance variable speed motor ahenderson HVAC 0 12-18-2010 07:28 AM
rheem new condenser fan motor install help blueaccord19 HVAC 0 04-28-2010 09:06 PM
Damper motor has loose wires how to access? g8rben HVAC 1 07-01-2009 06:47 PM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 09:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.