Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2010, 09:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Purgin with argon vs nitrogen


I am installing a xb14 trane condenser and I recently learned that the joints should be silver soldered with nitrogen flowing. I work on cars and have experience with HVAC but not residential. Can I use my argon gas that I use to mig weld with to purge the lines? Also, how is the gas introduced to the lines and where does it come out when I am soldering the last joint?


Can I use an infrared temperature gun to measure the temperature of the lines to calculate sub cooling. This is all new to me because with auto AC you just add the recommended amount of freon on the label under the hood.

Thanks

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 11:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Purgin with argon vs nitrogen


You don't need nitrogen with silver solder. (ex: Harris Stay Silv). It also produces a stronger joint then brazing. However it's best suiting for brand new joints, requires flux and is rather unforgiving to bad technique/joint prep.

If you choose to braze (ex: sil phos) then you need nitrogen due to the higher heat involved. I think most guys pull the schraders out of the service valves for the flow to exit. I don't see why argon wouldn't work. You just need an inert gas to displace oxygen which would otherwise contaminate the system.

There's a great you tube video that shows what happens when you braze without Nitrogen.

hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:16 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,063
Rewards Points: 3,790
Default

Purgin with argon vs nitrogen


Argon can be used instead of nitrogen. If you don't want to buy nitrogen.

No, your IR is not accurate.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
had soil tested...need to add .7 pds of nitrogen per 1,000sqft jongordo8 Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 04-08-2010 07:40 PM
difference between pH, fertilizer and nitrogen? windowguy Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 07-29-2009 11:19 AM
leaking freon - nitrogen ? wetbar HVAC 9 07-01-2009 01:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.