Purge And Deep Vacuum? - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 07:40 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


What kind of a leak test? What do you want them to show you.

Just did a 2 ton system that took 2.5 hours to pull below 500 microns.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:48 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 581
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What kind of a leak test? What do you want them to show you.

Just did a 2 ton system that took 2.5 hours to pull below 500 microns.
I jusst thought they did a seperate leak test. They ran a vacuum for two hours and told me that it pulled 500 microns. Anyway, they finished and it works pretty well, wxcept it seems to only work on a single blower speed and is a 2 speed. Given that they aren't even billing me until some tiles are replaced I think it will get fixed without delay.
Klawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 09:52 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Relax dude...if it leaks, someone will come back and fix it. The two speed blower, hi for cooling, low for heat. If the tech is going to spend the money on digital gauges, I wouldn't worry too much about it. You have to care about your work to spend that much money on a manifold set.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Master of Cold For This Useful Post:
Klawman (09-01-2011)
Old 09-01-2011, 10:55 PM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Ok, you don't need to do acid test if you're changing R22 to R410.
I think it's very important to use Nitrogen when welding.
I don't.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 10:57 PM   #20
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


And we don't weld, we braze.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:01 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
Relax dude...if it leaks, someone will come back and fix it. The two speed blower, hi for cooling, low for heat. If the tech is going to spend the money on digital gauges, I wouldn't worry too much about it. You have to care about your work to spend that much money on a manifold set.
It shouldn't leak to begin with. If it does, I'd be a concerned home ower.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:11 PM   #22
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
And we don't weld, we braze.
heheheheh yes braze
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:12 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 581
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
It shouldn't leak to begin with. If it does, I'd be a concerned home ower.
That is what I was thinking. I don't think it is leaking and they probably did a good job, but to be safe I may not use their referral to do a HERS.

I don't understand the point, but the guy left his gauges hooked up after he pulled a vacuum and they read between 245 and 258 PSI for about an hour. The reading fluctuated with the temperature.

I almost thought it humerous when the sales guy showed up at the very tail end of the job to show me a permit application that he couldn't get a permit issued on, because the city wouldn't take a credit card.
Klawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:27 PM   #24
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


JJboy, reason for not FLOWING ntirogen while brazing is once the lineset is brazed, remove the shraeder cores from the service ports. Actually, remove them before you braze to not burn the rubber seals. Hook up nitrogen via gauges and put 2 to 3 psig and let sit for a few minutes. Do not dumb via gauges, dump via disconnecting hoses from service port. Then re-attach hoses to ports and fill up with nitrogen to 200 psig for pressure/leak test and let sit for ten minutes. Once it is confirmed that no leak is present, disconnect hoses at ports and any applicable trash be it oxidation flakes or existing will blow out through the shraeder ports.

Done deal. The lineset has been pressure tested and cleaned as a two fer with one stone.

Re-install shraeder cores and then vacuum.

Believe you me, it works.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 11:41 PM   #25
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
JJboy, reason for not FLOWING ntirogen while brazing is once the lineset is brazed, remove the shraeder cores from the service ports. Actually, remove them before you braze to not burn the rubber seals. Hook up nitrogen via gauges and put 2 to 3 psig and let sit for a few minutes. Do not dumb via gauges, dump via disconnecting hoses from service port. Then re-attach hoses to ports and fill up with nitrogen to 200 psig for pressure/leak test and let sit for ten minutes. Once it is confirmed that no leak is present, disconnect hoses at ports and any applicable trash be it oxidation flakes or existing will blow out through the shraeder ports.

Done deal. The lineset has been pressure tested and cleaned as a two fer with one stone.

Re-install shraeder cores and then vacuum.

Believe you me, it works.


I already do the first part ..... I will try the second part next time. I'm using this.
Attached Thumbnails
Purge and Deep Vacuum?-photo-7-.jpg   Purge and Deep Vacuum?-photo-8-.jpg  
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 05:31 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


If your flowing nitrogen while brazing, there will be NO oxidation.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:43 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I already do the first part ..... I will try the second part next time. I'm using this.
*** Wow, that's cool. I WANT one. They're a bit pricey though. Bet I could make one up on the lathe. Only interested in 3/4 and 3/8. But how much is my time worth? Wouldn't take much to add up to $40....

- JerryK
jerryk1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 08:43 AM   #28
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If your flowing nitrogen while brazing, there will be NO oxidation.
There will always be oxidation as the last braze one can not flow nitrogen through as the opening is now gone as that last connection was where nitrogen was flowing from. Am I right or am I right?


Gotta go, I have a Goodman 4 ton condenser to install this morning that I will not be flowing nitrogen while brazing but I will be taking pics of the procedure I previously explained.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 09:31 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Pull both schrader cores Doc then have a trickle of nitro flowing. I'll give a good blast to fill the lines then pull the hose off and dial the regulator down until it can barely be heard coming out of the hose. Hook back up and braze, no oxidation that way.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:41 AM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Purge and Deep Vacuum?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Pull both schrader cores Doc then have a trickle of nitro flowing. I'll give a good blast to fill the lines then pull the hose off and dial the regulator down until it can barely be heard coming out of the hose. Hook back up and braze, no oxidation that way.

Yeah, as soon as I posted I realized it could be flowed that way. Oops.

If we get an authorization on this dang condenser I'm waiting on I might give it a try today.

Thanks.

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts