Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 07:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Hey everyone/ANYONE who can help me please its cold lol.

K here is my story,

I got a enerplus gas furnace . . the pilot would not light. I had read that the thermocouple might be the problem. I sanded it off put it back in, didnt work. . So I went to canadian tire and got a replacement universal, and I could not figure how to put it in .! . .. On accident I hit a hose that very easily came off and water poured everywhere. I put it back on, I heard water drain someplace.

To my surprise it fired up first click of the ignitor. Only to shut back off as it has done in the past , time and time over again after 10 - 15 minuts of run time. So again, I unpluged this pump (whitch I thought was the actuale furnace plug (lol) but it is only to this little pump. I drained the same hose that I had accidently bumped off the last time. and to my surprise it fired back up first try AGAIN. NEVER HAS IT DONE THAT IN LIKE THE LAST WEEK. . Again it shuts off. . .

SO I repeated the process again to have it fire up a 3rd time. . .NOW MY ULTIMATE QUESTION IS . . Can I leave this little pump unplugged?I believe the furnace will run if I leave this pump unplugged . . or is it bad to unplug the pump ? . I am pretty sure I have found the problem, but why is it acting this way ? . ANy suggestions from anyone that knows what they are talkin about would be greaT!.

So its something to do with that pump or water build up some place. . . help plz n thank you . .

dvandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:50 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Post pics.

Sounds like you have drain problems.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


man i was just gunna . and my cam ran out of battery S&^%!!! < ,. . . None the less, its been running now 45 min, and 25-30 min of that with the pump plugged in.

I am just scared im really going to wreck it if i keep draining that water. . or keep the pump unplugged
dvandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Recharge camera(or get new batteries). Then take and post pics.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Recharge camera(or get new batteries). Then take and post pics.
have you ever seen a pump for a furnace before? . I am reading online that they are used for air conditioners? . . . You cant say if i am safe to unplug it or not? .
dvandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:25 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Seen many condensate pumps for furnaces.

But have no idea what pump your talking about from your description.

So, no, can't say its safe, since I don't know what your calling a pump.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:31 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,590
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Sounds like a Lennox Complete heat or Polaris type unit. Probably has some type of water circ pump thru a secondary coil and NO it is not good to run it now. If it has a closed loop you can damage the pump or overheat the coil etc. It may be airlocked and that is the real problem. Never heard of that brand but may have seen something similar. No reference of it on the net and that is strange. Need some pics of it and the pump as well as age. I suspect that company may be out of business.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:27 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Here i got my camera working. Furnace is still running goood. 4 degrees an hour aprox. almost hit its hold point at 65.
Attached Thumbnails
Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL-000_2002.jpg   Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL-000_2004.jpg   Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL-000_2005.jpg   Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL-000_2008.jpg   Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL-000_2009.jpg  

dvandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 04:21 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Can't leave that hose off. You be getting CO from it if you did.
Its probably the crude that is built up it the flue that is stopping the water from draining properly. Pull the hose, clean it out, and make sure the opening in the base of that flue is not blocked.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 07:48 AM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,590
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL


Its a Rheem/Ruud high efficiency unit. That pump is a drainage/condensate pump. Beenthere is correct. You got sludge buildup and that line is not draining properly and backing water up into the furnace and stopping it with a pressure switch. The bottom of the pump is probably full of sludge also and needs cleaning.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas furnace exhaust vent question nowell HVAC 7 01-30-2012 08:31 AM
Heat pump or high efficiency furnace moisheh HVAC 13 11-14-2010 11:59 AM
Furnace intake noise question joeg679 HVAC 6 12-11-2009 12:03 PM
Help Needed ... turn on circulation pump when furnace in AC mode? Diranged HVAC 12 06-04-2009 06:33 AM
Flooring cold from furnace intake flipper_79 Building & Construction 1 01-25-2009 11:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.