Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 01:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Share |
Default

Propane line to house - permit needed?


I want to start new propane service to an existing house. To replace electric water heater with point-of-use propane. Do I need a permit with the city before I dig trench and lay pipe or can I just go ahead and do it?

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:48 PM   #2
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,707
Default

Propane line to house - permit needed?


If you are running from a remote tank, your propane supplier may be able to give you some experienced advice for your location. If you use enough, you may get them to install and/or supply the tank. - It is not to likely since it is just for heating water, but you might learn something or even get lucky.

Dick

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:13 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,501
Default

Propane line to house - permit needed?


Weather you need a permit or not, is up to your local AHJ, call them and ask.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Propane line to house - permit needed?


Are you buying the tank or is the supplier providing it? If the latter the supplier will take care of those details. Around here, the supplier does everything, including the trenching. But that would be the first place to ask your question.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (09-17-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing rooftop deck - permit needed? esk8mw Building & Construction 5 01-27-2012 02:02 AM
Relocating House Main Supply Line Entry setzerr Plumbing 0 07-15-2011 06:44 PM
Tree house project plans needed. timrec Building & Construction 1 02-13-2011 08:38 PM
Just bought a 1946 house, redoing kitchen, what electrical fixes/upgrades needed? TomServo Electrical 18 09-21-2009 06:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.