Propane 2 Zone Heat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2008, 06:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


Here is my problem, Our upstairs heat works fine, the downstairs heat doesn't work. The thermostat will click on, and you can hear the gas furnace (if that is what it is called) engage, but only for a few seconds, then shuts off when normally the fan would turn on. The fan works fine, if we put it in the on position it will blow cold air, but no heat. It is usually in the auto position, and only stopped working this morning. This is a new house, and we are used to an oil burner for our heat, and always figured out how to fix it. This is new to us, and we have no clue about how it works.

Advertisement

theleos7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:34 PM   #2
ICF Construction
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


If it's a new home you should still be under warranty, call the builder for service.

I have zoned heating, it is the best thing in the world. Guessing you have a fuse burnt out in the control panel for the zones

Advertisement

__________________
Chris
Chris Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:08 PM   #3
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by theleos7 View Post
Here is my problem, Our upstairs heat works fine, the downstairs heat doesn't work. The thermostat will click on, and you can hear the gas furnace (if that is what it is called) engage, but only for a few seconds, then shuts off when normally the fan would turn on. The fan works fine, if we put it in the on position it will blow cold air, but no heat. It is usually in the auto position, and only stopped working this morning. This is a new house, and we are used to an oil burner for our heat, and always figured out how to fix it. This is new to us, and we have no clue about how it works.

Have it checked out, it could be several things with what you have said.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 05:36 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


What I meant by New house, is it is new to us. We have been here a little over a year, the house is 6 years old. There is no warrantee, any repairs will be out of pocket. My husband is pretty handy with everything we have had to do to any of our houses. When it was the oil burner, we looked up, troubleshooted, and always figured it out. This is our first experience with this heater, and really would like to try to figure it out before we hire someone. Anyone have any ideas on what to look at first?

Last edited by theleos7; 01-08-2008 at 08:56 AM. Reason: adding to post
theleos7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 02:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


Ok, I got the heat to work, but only if the fan is in the on position. I don't know what anything is called on the thermostat or the unit, but there is a thin copper wire running around the front of the mercury switch on the thermostat, with a silver pointer that can move around it, which had some kind of corrosion or something on it, I moved it around a little to remove the white stuff, and tried all the positions on the thermostat. When I put the heat on with the fan on, the heat comes on. Blows out nice and hot, thank goodness, it was pretty chilly on the first floor. The problem now is that the fan won't turn on when it is in the auto position. The same thing happens, you can hear the gas firing up, and when the fan should engage, the gas just shuts off, no heat, no fan. If I turn the fan to the on position, then turn the heat to on, it works fine. I really want this to work properly. I keep turning on and off the heat when it warms up and cools off. I don't want to have the fan running all the time. Any help would really be appreciated.
theleos7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 02:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


Sorry to double post, but I also found out after looking through the attic, the crawlspace, and outside, we have 2 heater units. One in the attic for the upstairs, and one outside which is apparently the air conditioner and the heat for the first floor. The heat upstairs works fine because it is a separate unit. (Don't really check things out until there is trouble) So the heat being fine upstairs has nothing to do with the downstairs heat, I guess that doesn't make it 2 zone heat does it. Still All help and suggestions would be great!
theleos7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 06:41 PM   #7
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Propane 2 zone heat


Call a pro, you need a fan limit switch.

Advertisement

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 11:22 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM
propane heat sharpeidar HVAC 1 12-04-2007 08:17 PM
Zone system not working with heat. deliriousga HVAC 5 12-29-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts