Programmable Thermostat With A Wireless Sensor? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2010, 04:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor?


Hi there,

I live in a Chicago two flat home. I live on the 1st floor and rent out the 2nd floor unit to tenants.

There is only one furnace & AC unit for the entire building. The furnace is located in the basement and the ducts service both floors.

The programmable thermostat is
located and controlled in my 1st floor unit.

My tenants have complained about both high and low temperatures in Summer and Winter.
They have a non connected thermometer in their unit which appears to show the temperatures vary 5-6 degrees respectivelyfrom my unit.

Is there a programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor that I could place in their unit in order to monitor & adjust according to the temperature on the 2nd floor?

Thanks,

Stephen

Advertisement


Last edited by scraig; 02-24-2010 at 04:30 PM.
scraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor?


Never heard of anything like that. If you want to just monitor their temp remotely check this out. Wireless weather station. One of my customers got one of these and his neighbor can monitor his house temp while he is on winter vacation. Can transmit 30 metres or 100 ft for my Southern metric challenged friends.
http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/browse/5/SportsRec/Camping/CampingAccessories/PRD~0761178P/Wireless%252BWeather%252BStation.jsp
I am sure something similar must be available in your area.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-24-2010 at 07:07 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor?


http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...e_SD_6inch.jpg

http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...69-2057EFS.pdf

Honeywell has a nice option.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:53 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor?


All the NICE new toys that are coming out. Lennox has a whole batch of " i Comfort " stats /communication system coming out soon. Mucho dollaros though.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-24-2010 at 07:56 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 11:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Programmable thermostat with a wireless sensor?


Venstar makes wireless tstats too (they are often rebranded as Carrier)
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote sensor for line voltage thermostat? hbridge HVAC 7 07-06-2012 04:42 PM
Programmable Thermostat Suggestions... monkeystomach HVAC 5 02-05-2010 05:07 PM
Thermostat w/ wireless Remote Sensor Davidb6 HVAC 2 02-10-2009 08:45 PM
programmable thermostat + heat pump Potomac101 HVAC 10 12-03-2008 11:02 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts