Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 03:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


I purchased the 3M Filtrete (3M-22) programmable thermostat and I'm confused on how to install it. Im pretty sure im just over thinking it.

OLD THERMO WIRES:
W | B | G | R | X | O | Y

NEW THERMO WIRE OPTIONS:
C | B | O | W | W2 | Y | Y2 | RH | RC | G | A

This is how I believe I should install:
W - W
B - C (It says that If I have both B and O, I should install B to C and O to O)
G - G
R - RH
X - ???
O - O
Y - Y

Where should the X go?

Thanks!

75meters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


obviously you have a heat pump. what model is your old thermostat?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


Its Honeywell. There are a bunch of different sets of numbers so here they are: (i believe its the first one)

LR95329-1
T874R1889

Im thinking that the X might be the common and I may not need it. What do you think?

Last edited by 75meters; 05-15-2011 at 05:18 PM.
75meters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:19 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


What happened to the instruction booklet that came with the new thermostat? If you have not checked the website for the 3m filtrete thermo, everything is pretty much right there.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


I have the book. And i've checked the site and all over other forums. The book dosent mention anything about an X wire so I posted up here. My system wires dont seem to properly match up with the new thermo. Any ideas?
75meters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:31 PM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


(R), Red conductor, hot side of transformer
(C) or (B) or (X), Blue, Black or Brown conductor, Common side of transformer. Not to be confused with (B) on heat pumps. If you have a (B) on a heat pump thermostat, your common will be (C) or (X)
(Y), Yellow conductor, 1st stage compressor contactor (cooling for ac or cooling and heating on a heat pump).
(Y2), Blue or Pink, second stage compressor contactor
(W), White conductor, 1st stage heat (gas furnace, oil furnace, electric resistance furnace (auxillary heat on a heat pump)
(W2), Pink or any unused color conductor, second stage of heat
(G), Green conductor, furnace blower fan.
(O), Orange conductor, Energize heat pump reversing valve to cool
(B), Blue or Orange, Energize heat pump reversing valve to heat (mainly older Rheem/Ruud).
(E), blue, pink, gray or tan conductor, emergency heating strips on a heat pump.
(T), Tan or Gray conductor, outdoor temperature compensator.
(L), Blue, brown, tan or gray conductor, service indicator lamp.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


Great thanks!

This is how I believe I should install:
W - W
B - It says "If you have O and B, connect O to O. WARNING: DO NOT connect B to B"
(Where do you think I should connect B to?)
G - G
R - RH
X - Tape up and not use?
O - O
Y - Y

Last edited by 75meters; 05-15-2011 at 05:39 PM.
75meters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 06:22 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


some old systems used both O and B. what kind of heat pump and furnace or air handler do you have? How old are they? Can you access the terminal strips in the equipment? This is the only true way to know what goes where and if your new stat will even work with your system. Does your old stat have a emergency heat function?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 07:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Programmable Thermostat Install Q


Got it!
Thanks for your help but I got it working.

X goes to C
B Do not use
W goes to W2

The others match up to their letter.

Thanks again

75meters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
programmable thermostat and quadr fire pellet stoves jec HVAC 1 01-12-2011 09:11 PM
Thermostat Install Help funny wire jhare215 HVAC 15 01-05-2011 09:11 PM
Question on installing an Honeywell RTH6350 programmable thermostat. outdoorted HVAC 3 01-02-2011 06:48 PM
Trying to install new thermostat Jeff240sx HVAC 4 07-01-2010 11:06 AM
Programmable thermostat with aux and emergency heat recommendation bjwz24 HVAC 3 01-25-2008 04:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.