Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2008, 01:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Programmable backlit thermostats


I have a home with hydronic heat and old timey round thermostats in each bedroom. I wanted to put something accurate, good looking, and programmable as a replacement so I bought 3 Honeywell RTH7400 thermostats thinking that they matched what I need and coming from Honeywell they would be the best. Unfortunetely, there are two features that are simply unacceptable:

First, the backlight will not turn on unless you press a button. This is just dumb.

Second, this things makes the loudest relay clicking I've ever heard from a thermostat. This just won't do.

I have a nice White Rodgers touchscreen thermostat (on the first floor) and it does not have either of these problems.

So besides paying the big bucks for something really nice, does anyone make a good thermostat? These things are really priced way too high, there must be some competition out there. All I need is something with one switching relay in it, but I want it to come in a nice package.

Thanks,
Chris Hansen

invertedflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 08:45 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Programmable backlit thermostats


did you check out the Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 http://www.hotfreshcool.com/visionpro_demo.html


Last edited by biggles; 03-09-2008 at 08:51 AM.
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Programmable backlit thermostats


Like, I said, I need four units and don't want to drop $100+ on each. I think I may have found a solution - will post back soon.

-Chris
invertedflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 05:44 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Programmable backlit thermostats


might be able to add a remote sensor the size of a matchbook ,and mount the stats in a hallway closet or down near the boiler on 3/4" plywood
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Programmable backlit thermostats


Hi,
well you could get another white rogers touchscreen for an inexpensive price . Try this link and see if you find another touchscreen white rodger thermostat that could work for you.
Jane
Jane Addams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recommend Heat only programmable thermostat? pesphoto HVAC 11 12-26-2007 06:26 PM
What do you keep your programmable thermostat set to J187 General DIY Discussions 2 12-08-2007 10:05 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM
Baseboard thermostats gregrice HVAC 7 01-08-2006 07:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.