Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2008, 07:58 PM   #31
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy2 View Post
Probaly. I have no idea on the house's history. Thats the furnace that was there when I moved in 2 years ago. It was from '02.
I sold it..wanted to get rid of the oil stuff. Have an old oil tank. Hate the sootyness of it.
I think Beenthere was right about the size then.

Reason i say so is because back in the the 70s it was a common practice to oversize cause energy prices were so much cheaper and a bigger furnance was considered best.

When on the run the numbers at better insulation I come up with an 80kbtu.

i think the guys who did the oil furnace did a manual J calculation.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 09:13 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Just thought Id update that the furnace is still working fine..

I also did temp readings. I get about a 50* difference (60* cold, 110* )warm.

Still crossing my fingers, but looks like I might be in the clear!
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 11:15 PM   #33
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy2 View Post
Just thought Id update that the furnace is still working fine..

I also did temp readings. I get about a 50* difference (60* cold, 110* )warm.

Still crossing my fingers, but looks like I might be in the clear!
Thats too dmaned low. Sure you are not tripping on high limit when you took readings?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 11:39 PM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,491
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


My guess. Is those readings were taken at teh registers, and not the unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 08:13 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Right..So, I'm supposed to drill through the duct work on top of the furnace to take a reading?
Ive heard you're supposed to be several feet from the furnace. I was actually at the ducts closest to the furnace. (more or less right on top of it)

The rise range on the furnace is 45* to 75*

With the factory speed at medium high, it might make sense for it to be on the low end.
I imagine that's good for the life of the heat exchanger atleast.

Last edited by Tommy2; 12-01-2008 at 08:17 AM.
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:14 AM   #36
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


I'm gonna bill you Dude...LOL

That model calls for the furnace to be run at least 15 minutes and the supply temp taken three feet from the plenum at the middle of the trunk.
This avoids radiant heat from giving false readings.

The return should be at the flex collar in the middle where it connects the trunk to the cold air drop.-
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:19 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Well..Id have to drill through my sheet metal to do that. I think I'll just pass. Everything is working fine, and the readings I got were pretty close to the furnace - and not near the 75* limit to warrant further investigation.
(i.e...the closer readings will probaly give it a 60-70* difference..still within the range)

I appreciate the help and will update if anything changes.
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:09 PM   #38
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy2 View Post
Well..Id have to drill through my sheet metal to do that. I think I'll just pass. Everything is working fine, and the readings I got were pretty close to the furnace - and not near the 75* limit to warrant further investigation.
(i.e...the closer readings will probaly give it a 60-70* difference..still within the range)

I appreciate the help and will update if anything changes.

We drill holes in the metal all the time. No big deal. Just cover it with silicon when you finish.

If we were keeping track you'd owe us into four figures by now So how generous HVAC guys are?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 12-01-2008 at 01:40 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:28 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


...Which is exactly why I did it myself
It's amazing how much it costs to have a contractor just walk through your door lol

Thanks again for the advice.
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:45 PM   #40
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy2 View Post
...Which is exactly why I did it myself
It's amazing how much it costs to have a contractor just walk through your door lol

Thanks again for the advice.

Oh stop acting like we come in with a ski mask and gun to give an estimate.

You were fortunate you could handle the job. Why not post pics of what you did?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:51 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


I have pictures..but no where to upload. Its really nothing special to see anyways. I'm fairly proud of the work, but I'm sure the pros do it better.
Hopefully Ill get a good 10+ years of service out of it. Particularly since Im more or less broke after buying all this stuff.

Filling the propane tank costs me $600 $2.63/gal. That puts me at about $3000 worth of spending in the last 6 weeks after new water heater, furnace, etc..

Ugh. I should have just went with wood or pellet lol
Tommy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:55 PM   #42
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy2 View Post
I have pictures..but no where to upload. Its really nothing special to see anyways. I'm fairly proud of the work, but I'm sure the pros do it better.
Hopefully Ill get a good 10+ years of service out of it. Particularly since Im more or less broke after buying all this stuff.

Filling the propane tank costs me $600 $2.63/gal. That puts me at about $3000 worth of spending in the last 6 weeks after new water heater, furnace, etc..

Ugh. I should have just went with wood or pellet lol
Don't forget to register the the furnace or you won't get the ten year warranty.
Have to do it on line or mail it in.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
HEIL furnace keeps kicking off reset switch sunsetacres1318 HVAC 8 11-04-2008 08:35 AM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 12:50 PM
Furnace Problems? MCSE HVAC 10 12-20-2006 11:06 AM
Furnace Problems? Part 2 MCSE HVAC 9 11-30-2006 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.