Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2011, 01:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


I recently purchased and installed a Honeywell RTH6400 thermostat to run my Lennox G40UH series gas furnace. The problem is that the thermostat will not activate the furnace until there is a 2 degree Celsius difference between the room temperature and the set temperature. Is this a faulty thermostat or can I change this setting? I could live with one degree difference, but 2 is not acceptable. Thanks.

gerryyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:39 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,319
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


Did you go through the programming of the thermostat to set for the furnace type & CPH?

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


http://customer.honeywell.com/techli.../69-2210EF.pdf

On page 20 when choosing fahrenheit or celcius, see if another function for offset. If so, offset 2 degrees C.

Another posting reminds that if hole remains in wall, where wiring comes through, cold air may be hitting thermostat from the back. Seal wall hole temporarily with tape to test?
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:29 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,645
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


That stat uses CPH, so there is no offset adjustment.

Did you set the stat to something other then 1 heat 1 cool?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 12:36 PM   #5
HVAC Installer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Troy, MO
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


on the honeywell stat there is an option to selet Comfort or economy. I am willing to bet you are on economy. This will not allow the furnace to start till there is a 2 degree call, that way the furnace runs longer less often. Switch it to comfort and that should take care of it.
LukeROttinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:10 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,319
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

Problems with Honeywell Thermostat


Not on that thermostat. It is a really basic model.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 TH8320U1008 Thermostat Question chetwynd HVAC 3 02-08-2012 10:36 AM
Honeywell Thermostat/ With Nordyne A/C single package 4 ton h.p. NanaMcal HVAC 0 12-08-2010 09:53 AM
Honeywell RTH7600D Thermostat brewmastr HVAC 1 01-03-2010 08:10 PM
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 01:30 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.