Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 02:40 PM   #1
Rocket Rob
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Lightbulb

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


To whomever can help,

I have an older Holland Furnace w/Iron Heater Core and standing pilot thermocouple. The pilot went out and I replaced the thermocouple w/new kit. The pliot then stays lit and the valve for the burner fires up as normal from the main electric switch and when I turned the themostat down and then up. One problem though...when the desired room temp is met, the valve shuts off and so does the Pilot. I then have to relight unit. The valve also never closes until the themostat tells it to. Is this normal or what? No control modules on this unit. Honeywell Gas valve 1/2 x 3/4 and continuous pilot. The blower appears to recycle (off and on). Anticipator, Thermostat, and 24v Transformer appears to be working properly. I suspect the Gas Valve itself as the culprit. Whaduya think. Can anyone please help.

HAVCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 03:34 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,421
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


Post some pics of that furnace and the burner. I have worked on real old units with conversion burners etc. The burner may be sucking out the pilot when it shuts down. If it is that old do you really want to take chances with it cracking and you get CO poisoning? I am sure it is a lot less than 50% efficient.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 05:29 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


When you say you replaced with a new kit.. Do you mean new pilot assy as well as t. couple ?? Like YURI said . When the main burner goes out . It sucks the pilot out. I have also worked on these in the past. You need a good strong pilot to withstand the suction of the burner when it goes off
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 07:24 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


Could be as well as the standing pilot assy needs cleaned
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 02:07 PM   #5
Rocket Rob
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


Hey what's up Kenmac; Yuri...

The ans is Yes, I replaced the Entire assy...Thermocouple and Deflector assy. The new pilot is very strong but old pilot was'nt going out with the old assy. I'm feeling you on the sucking action but it's not quite hittin the spot. Everything is lined up the same. Had to omit (1) screw. There is a long gas tube and another apparatus that looks like some type air flow vent. It runs parallel alongside the burner tube. About a foot long w/little holes in it. Im still hitting a brick wall. A new valve is about $200.00 bucks. Were in a recession...Whew! Any other thoughts....Im all open for it....thanks...
HAVCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 02:10 PM   #6
Rocket Rob
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


Hey what's up Kenmac; Yuri...

The ans is Yes, I replaced the Entire assy...Thermocouple and Deflector assy. The new pilot is very strong but old pilot was'nt going out with the old assy. I'm feeling you on the sucking action but it's not quite hittin the spot. Everything is lined up the same. Had to omit (1) screw. There is a long gas tube and another apparatus that looks like some type air flow vent. It runs parallel alongside the burner tube. About a foot long w/little holes in it. Im still hitting a brick wall. A new valve is about $200.00 bucks. Were in a recession...Whew! Any other thoughts....Im all open for it....thanks...
HAVCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 04:52 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Problems With Gas Valve-Old Iron Core Furnace


Replacing the gas valve will not help. What you ( I have had to do this) Take the new pilot assy & open up the holes (orifice) a little so that you will get a larger pilot flame. The new pilot assy will not provide enough flame to keep from getting sucked out. If it's good , re- install the old pilot assy & it will stay on

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
Resource for understanding gas valve? darsunt HVAC 19 02-03-2009 11:08 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 12:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.