Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


I just got a new house and am cleaning out the HVAC system and fixing up years of bad home owner upkeep. In the process I replaced some old LUX thermostats that were broken with some new honeywell units, I have also decided to upgrade some features and have run into a problem.

House is 1971 two story with built out basement
unit is a Payne394g(075) with match light
thermo's are honeywell RTH5100 and 5400 (5400 upstairs)

My problem is this, they work fine for the heating as we occupy the different zones we just change the heat as we want I have no problems with the dual thermostats and the function they work. However I would like to enable the fan only operation of the Payne unit. I broke a jumper from the R-G (after reviewing schematics) and hooked up the G to the thermostat.

Problem #1 - the Payne unit operates with the fan running with a open circuit, when the honeywell thermo is set to "auto" the fan is running when its set to "on" the fan is not running. (I assume reverse relay)

Problem #2 - I assume that I can just plop in a 24v relay and reverse the open circut back around, but it appears that the honeywell thermostats dont actually open or close a thermostat for G as I cant pull contuneity like I can when thermostat calls for heat.

So the question I have is how do I get the honeywell Thermostats to control the Fan only operation of the HVAC? it all works great with a screwdriver and shorting it out but wont seem to work with the honeywell, do I need to wire in some other 24v power source to control a relay for a relay to reverse the feed? Or can I pull 24v from the W (would this damage anything?) or can I change some programming feature in the honeywell to make the relays work as I need them to.

spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 03:41 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


Do the stats have RH and RC jumperd.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 06:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


yes they do - its currently heating up the house as its about 50 inside (moving all day) so I dont want to pull them right now, Would this cause my issues?
spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 08:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


i pulled the jumper, now it wont turn off the fan ever.
spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 08:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


With multiple thermostats i suspect you have some type of zoning system. Do you have motorized dampers in the ductwork and a zoning control panel?
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


no no multi-zone or damper nothing fancy in the unit. I have disconnected one thermostat for all my testing here.
spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


You are probably going need the jumpers installed. Also remove the new thermostat and check it for a switch to select fuel type. May be set to electric.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


so here is where I think a problem is... from talking to a friend "open is off" in my case open is on. Can I reverse something in the thermostat to deal with this?

spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 06:39 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


The RC an RH need to be jumpered on most newer systems.

Pos brand and model number of the old stats you removed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 08:26 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


lux 1000 that were damaged so I dont know if they worked properly
spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 03:53 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


They didn't work any different for fan control then your new stats do.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 04:53 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default

problems with "fan only" on Payne unit


I might just live with it reversed on the thrmo, it works just annoying to not have it perfect.

spudgunman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
Coleman Split Unit Problems kyallendiy HVAC 4 11-04-2008 06:41 AM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
Window AC unit problems, Please assist if you can! Boscy HVAC 1 07-28-2005 10:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.